Glossary
The encyclopedia of the tourist

K
Kadji-Sai (Kaji-Sai)
Kadji-Saz, tract
Kaindy
, glacier
Kaindy, valley
Kalmak-Ashuu, Chui
Kalmak-Ashuu, Naryn
Kalmak-Kyrchin
Kambarata
Kan, fortress
Kan-Debe (Han-Debe)
Kan-i-Gut, cave
Kant
Kanykei Bulak
Kapchygai
Kaptal-Aryk
Kara-Balta, gorge
Kara-Balta, town
Kara-Daria, settlement
Kara-Jygach
Kara-Keche
Kara-Kel, salt lake
Kara-Koyun, Naryn
Kara-Koyun unkur
Kara-Kul
Kara-Oi (Dolinka), village
Kara-Shoro, mineral springs
Kara-Shoro, natural park
Kara-Suu, valley
Kara-Tokoi
Karakol, town
Karakol, natural park
Karakol, gorge
Karalaev
Karatal-Zhapyryksky State Reserve
Karavshin, valley
Karkyra
Karool-Dube, hillfort
Kashka-Suu, gorge Chui)
Kazakhstan, sanatorium
Kazarman
Kegety gorge
Kek-Suu
Kel-Kogur, lake
Kel-Suu, lake
Kel-Tor, lake. Chui
Kel-Tor, lake. Naryn
Kel-Ukock
Kelin-Tash
Kemin
Ken-Kol, cemetery
Ketmen-Tube basin
Keykap, river
Khan-Debe
Khan-Tengri
Kichi-Kemin, gorge
Kirkidan
Kochkor (Kochkorka)
Koguchkon-Sugat, waterfall
Koi-Sary
Kojo-Kelen, village
Kojomkul
Kok-Moinok, canyons
Kok-Moinok, gorge
Kokomeren
Konur-Olen
Konorchok, Dry Canyons
Korumdu, village
Korumdu, jailoo
Korumdy, mountain node
Korzhenevskogo, glacier
Koshoi-Korgon
Krasnorechenskoe settlement
Kubat-biy
Kudayar-khan chebi, fastness
Kulunatinsky State Reserve
Kuilyu, ridge
Kungei Ala-Too (Kungei Alatau)
Kurmanjan Datka
Kurmenty, village
Kurskoe (Sary-Oi)
Kuturgu, village
Kymyz treatment
Kyrchin, natural park
Kyrgyz-Ata, gorge
Kyrgyz-Ata, natural park
Kyrgyz Beach, sanatorium
Kyrgyzstan, sanatorium
Kyrk Kyzdyn Unkuru
Kyz-Art, Pass
Kyzyl-Art
Kyzyl-Bel
Kyzyl Nuura
Kyzyl-Oi
Kyzyl-Suu, gorge, Chui
Kyzyl-Suu, settlement, Chui


Kadji-Sai (Kaji-Sai), village. Kadji-Sai village is located on the southern shore of the Issyk-Kul lake. It was equipped in 1947 by the orders of Lavrentyi Beria in connection with the opening of the uranium deposits within the vicinity at a depth of 600 meters. Deposits of uranium ore, in those years, were quickly being explored through the entire territory of the USSR in search of raw materials for the Soviet atomic bomb. However, a local mine later proved to be low profitability because of the low content of this type of radioactive elements, thus mining was stopped in the early 60s. The population was re-profiled to service the coal mines and experimental electro-technical production of national importance, which ceased operation in 1995.
In the vicinity of the Kadji-Sai village, there are burial mounds and rock paintings. A Kadji-Sai fortress is located 1 km east from the mouth of the same named river. It consists of a 60x60 meter building block and a 40x60 meter extension on the east side. The complex was the ruins of a caravan-serai in X-XIII centuries. In the main part of the fortress, 100 residential and economic types of rooms have been discovered, which were divided by streets and corridors. The walls were built of adobe bricks. During excavations, objects such as pottery, stone grinders, grinding bars, animal bones and more, were found. The excavations were performed by D.F.Vinnik. Top

Kadji-Saz, tract (1830 m). Kadji-Saz tract is located south of the village of Kadji-Sai, Issyk-Kul. Archaeological monuments can be seen in the basin of Kadji-Sai river and also in the surrounding area. In the upper reaches of the river are burial mounds of VI century BC - VIII century AD, and also the medieval monuments of writing and two populations (X-XII centuries). North of the road Tosor - Bokonbaevo, there are traditional images of animals, mainly goats depicted on the stones. The petroglyphs are dated 1 millennium BC. Top

Kaindy, glacier. Kaindy glacier is located close to the district of Southern Enilchek glacier, south-west of the latter. The district of Kaindy glacier includes both Kaindy and Terekty glaciers. Climatic conditions are similar to the district of the Southern Enilchek glacier. This district is barely visited than the Southern Enilchek, and is characterized by summits of up to 6073m. There is a large number of virgin peaks within the district. The routes are combined, ice-snow and snow, and elevations are up to 1000-1500m. The first climbing expedition to have come here was in 1995, who has made the very first ascents to the seven peaks of this district. To get to this district can be done by helicopter or by road. From Maida-Adyr campsite it is a 45-minute flight by a helicopter. From Karakol town to Enilchek village, is 150 km by car on a paved road, then about 30 km on a bad mountain road of the Kaindy valley, which can only be driven with a high pass-ability road vehicle (for instance, 4x4 vehicle). From the end of the road, it takes two days on foot to the upper reaches of the glacier Kaindy. There are no porters in the area, thus they must by brought with you from Karakol town. Top

Kaindy, valley. Kaindy is one of the valleys in the Kyrgyz ridge. The town of Kaindy sits across the main road from Bishkek to Tashkent, and was known for its Sugar factory. High in the mountains above town was an early gold mine. The road climbs gently into the mountains past previously existing pioneer camps, but this valley is rarely visited by tourists. The south part of Kaindy valley lies on the Asphara territory - an ancient settlement dating from the VI to XII centuries. To the south, there are Royal Mounds - these mounds are dated from the XI century BC to the III century. Top

Kalmak-Ashuu pass, (3450 m). Chui region. The valley of the Chon-Kemin in the Issyk-Kul structural basin can be reached through the pass. It has a rise of 1530 m. According to a legend, the Kyrgyz led by Tynai, killed several thousands of Kalmaks on the pass, including women and children. After this, the pass was named Kalmak-Ashuu pass. Top

Kalmak-Ashuu pass, (3446 m). Naryn region. It is possible to get to the northern shore of Son-Kul lake through the Kalmak-Ashuu pass. The pass is open from June to October. At other times, it may be impassable, especially during the winter. Top

Kalmak-Kyrchin. A small village, 60 km north-east of Jalalabad, which works as a starting point to visit the petroglyphs on the board of Saimaluu-Tash. The village has a mausoleum named Kurmanbek-batyr, from Kipchak tribe, who died at the hands of Kalmaks who had invaded their land (XVI Century). Top

Kambarata. Kambarata, canyon. Kambarata is located in the south of Naryn river before Toktogul reservoir. With high, rocky cliffs, narrow approach, fast river with whirlpools, was a popular spot for rafting on the white water. Currently, there are hydroelectric power stations, Kambarata 1 and 2, being built. Top

Kan, fortress. Batken region. River Soh take inflow of Abgol (river from a lake) in the middle river course, at the mouth of which, on the river terrace, the same named settlement is sheltered.Above Abgol village is the Khan fortress, which embodies the power of the Kokand Khanate (XVII century). The fortress is well preserved to date. In the courtyard, is a stone slab with petroglyphs of animals and camel riders. These images are much older than the walls of the fortress, and have no relation to the fortress. Deep groove divides the fortress into two unequal parts. Adjacent to the hillside is a part that represents a vast enclosure, only vaguely resembling the fortress from a distance. Western part, hanging over the valley of Soh, is the sheer citadel where was the garrison.Both strengthening blocks are connected between each other by a narrow isthmus, along which stretches a narrow corridor. Where the corridor merges with the citadel, are the two rising conical towers, which by the builders's idea, were supposed to protect all other corners of the citadel. Top

Kan-Dåbå, (Khan-Debe) ruins - Tuura-Suu. Many legends are told about a mysterious underground town on the shore of Issyk-Kul, about immeasurable wealth guarded by spirits in gloomy catacombs and ghosts frightening casual adventurers. A huge settlement of our predecessors actually exists under the ruins of the ancient Kan-Dobo settlement on the outskirts of Tuura-Suu in the Ton rayon.
The walls of the pit were lined with bricks, dry and well preserved. This was a manhole, the beginning of a tunnel.
Kan-Debe settlement has a water-piping system. Ancient people living here had such a level of knowledge that they created a network of galleries, a real labyrinth, which, when necessary, served as a refuge concealing them from enemies.
Found home appliances and ancient coins with the image of Buddha in the ground.
Tunnel was lined with abode bricks of a very special type - half a meter long and 20 centimeters wide. The laying met the requirements of modern construction.
Many finds were made in Tuura-Suu, among them vases with inscriptions, stone and metal unknown objects, buttons made from bones, jewelry and many others. Top

Kant. The town of Kant lies 22 kilometers to the East of Bishkek. It is sometimes thought that the town was named after the philosopher Immanual Kant - especially as there used to be alarge number of ethnic Germans living in the area (for example in the neighbouring village of Luxembourg) - but this is a mistake. The word is Kyrgyz for «cube sugar» and the town owes its name to the presence of a large sugar factory. The town is also home to Kyrgyzstan'slargest cement factory.
There is a statue of Lenin and a monument to theose who fell in the Civil War.
Nearby are Krasnaya Rechka; the Chui river with some good spots for fishing; and a water reservior which is favourite spot for swimming amongst the locals.
To the East of Bishkek, on the road to Kant, lies the site of Pakap - an ancient settlement dating from the 6th to 12th centuries. Top

Kanykei Bulak (Kanykei’ Spring). Ak Jar village, Talas rtgion, Talas. Guardian – Bekkul Jumanazarov. Type of mazar – springs. Kanykei’ Bulak is located 200 meters from the village to the northwest. It consists of 41 springs. Its special feature is that the water differs in taste from spring to spring. It is said that the 41 springs cure 41 diseases. The springs are located close to one another. The mazar is 80 meters long and 3 meters wide. Top

Kapchygai. (Gorge, mountain valley in Kyrgyz) Between the villages of Frunze and Kyzyl-Kiya, but in the foothills, there is a «stand of ancient man» - dating from about 25-20 thousand years BC.Top

Kaptal-Aryk. The village of Kaptal-Aryk lies about 75 km east of Bishkek, on the road to Talas. It is home to a museum dedicated to the Kyrgyz poet Alykul Osmonov, (1915-1950), who appears on the 200 som note. He was born in the village and wrote in both Kyrgyz and Russian and translated many poems, stories, legends and fairy tales fromKyrgyz into Russian. He was very fond of Lake Issyk Kul and lived in Cholpon-Ata - many of his works describe the lake in it’ s different seasons and moods. He was revered in the Soviet time as an important Soviet writer. He died at the age of 35 of Pulmonary Pneumonia. There is a statue of him outside the National Library in Bishkek. The museum was built to commemorate what would have been his 75th birthday. Top

Kara-Balta, gorge. Kara-Balta gorge is deep and narrow, it is located on the northern slope of the Kyrgyz Ala-Too, on the territory of Jayil district. Typical landscapes include forest, meadow-steppe at an altitude of 1900-2700 m. Greens that grow here include juniper, rowan, birch, willow, barberry and more. These are alpine (3200-3600 m) and glacial-nival (above 3600 m) zones. The upper reaches are used as pastures. There is an auto-road, Bishkek - Osh, that goes through the gorge. Top

Kara-Balta, town (in Kyrgyz "Black Axe"). Is the administrative center of Jaiyl region, Chui district. The city is located 60 km to the west of Bishkek at the intersection of 2 major highways: Bishkek - Taraz (Jambul) - Tashkent, and the main highway Bishkek - Osh, running the from the north to the south, which rises through Kara-Balta gorge, passes through the pass Tuu-Ashu and descends to Suusamyr valley.
In the middle ages on the site of a modern city since VI century there was a city Nuzket, that was located on the Silk Road and destroyed by the Mongolian invaders in the XII century, and it was left by the inhabitants afterwards. Only six centuries later, with the formation of the Khanate of Kokand, under the rule of Khan Madaly, the Kokand military fortress of Shish-Debe was built in place of Nuzket for keeping the western part of Chui Valley under control.
After joining the Kyrgyz-soltintsev lands to Russsian Empire in 1863, Russian and Ukrainian immigrants have created the station Kara-Balta (and the village later) on the ruins of the fortress Shish-Debe in 1860-1970, on the east bank of the Kara-Balta river. The settlement has been called Kara-Balta.
In 1933, the largest sugar factory in Kyrgyzstan, which became the main enterprise, has been put into the operation. In early 1950 of the twentieth century Ming-Kushs, Kadji-Sai, Maili-Sai, Sumsar-Shakaftar uranium deposits were discovered, so secret Kara-Balta Mining Enterprise, initiating development of nuclear industry in the USSR was built and it remained one of the largest in the USSR uranium mining enterprises till 1991. Top

Kara-Daria, settlement (4-3 centuries BC). It is considered one of the most ancient architectural monuments. Its location is between Uzgen town and Kara-Kuldzha village. It is located on a difficult to reach river headlands and is one of a few representatives of Kushansky culture. Top

Kara-Jygach. Kara-Jygach is located south of Sary-Chelek lake among natural sights, which is just one example of a beautiful geological feature with stone columns molded by forces of erosion, and canyon, which presents a picturesque view of a beautiful pristine mountain landscape -this place also attracts a lot of visitors. Top

Kara-Keche. On the road from Chaek to Son-Kul, Kara-Keche is best known as an open pit coal mine - one of the largest in Kyrgyzstan with approximately 100 million tons of coal. Top

Kara-Koyun, valley. Naryn region. An ancient Silk Road used to go through here, which linked the Seven Rivers and Ferghana to Kashgar. Then, the northern route became dominant. But after the invasion of the hordes of Genghis Khan, the northern route was closed to the merchants. Caravans went back to the old road. Top

Kara-Koyun unkur (Kara Koyun Cave). Ürmaral village, Bakai-Ata region, Talas.
No guardian. Type of mazar – cave. Very large yellow stones and black stones with holes on the top are 10-15 meters above the road. At the entrance of the cave, there is a stone that is 3 meters long, 1 meter high and 1.5 meters wide. Starting from three meters the height of the cave gradually decreases towards the back. It is said that the entrance to the cave is in Besh-Tash village and the exit is in Kök-Tash village.
The cave is 15-20 meters above the road. Above the cave there are mountains. Inside, there are three spots from which water is dripping – the water is salty. It is dark inside the cave. In 1950, during the earthquake, big stones fell down and nowadays they lie around the cave in huge piles. Top

Kara-Kul. A dormitory town for the workers at the main Toktogul power station, which is nearby. It is possible to arrange tours of the dam and power station, which is one of a series of five across the River Naryn through the gorge down to Tash-Kumyr. The dam was completed after 14 years construction in 1976 - and it features on the 100 som note. Yet more dams are planned - but it is not clear when and if these plans will be implemented. As well as being a major producer of electricity which Kyrgyzstan exports to neighboring countries - it has also been the source of much dispute with Uzbekistan which lies further down the river - as Kyrgyzstan controls the flow of water which is needed for irrigation of cotton fields in Uzbekistan. Top

Kara-Oi (Dolinka), village. On the north side of the village, there are petroglyphs with large pictures of animals on the boulders. Singular figures reach 1.2 meters in height. It stretches from north to south 1.5-2 km, from east to west - 5 km. It is considered to have more than one thousand petroglyphs. There are numerous mounds with burials of the nomad culture, from the Sak-Usuns up to XII century. There is gumbez Kalygula uulu Bai (1785-1855) in the village - the largest representative and founder of the Zamanist direction in Kyrgyz literature of the XIX century. In Soviet times, he was enrolled in the ranks of the reactionary poets - philosophers, but the Kyrgyz did not forget his great wise man, who became a legend during his lifetime. Nowadays, the great-grandson of Kalygula - Turdakun Usubaliyev, built a magnificent mausoleum over Gumbez, on the walls of which, poems of the poet-philosopher are carved. Approximately 2.5 kilometers south of the eastern edge of the village, on the cape of Kara-Oi, some remnants are visible underwater, they include laid stone slabs, numerous fragments of medieval pottery, bones of human skeletons and random finds of bronze objects. In 2003, two bronze cauldrons were lifted from the bottom. There were also found corn grinders, millstones from manual mills and pottery fragments. They date back to around X-XII centuries. After the storm, pieces of ceramics can be collected on the sandy beach and the water's edge. Top

Kara-Shoro, mineral springs. Osh region, Uzgen district. In the upper reaches of Yassy river, on its right bank, is a series of mineral springs. Kara-Shoro is the most famous of them. There is only around 20 mineral springs with clean, cold, boiling water from the gas. Within a 25 km radius, from Kara-Shoro are also other sources: Kulubek, Arkar-Shoro, Chaivai, Kara-Debe, Baibiche (Chaty).
Around Kara-Shoro, the remains of a medieval caravanserai, Sogolon, can be seen, which was on the caravan route from the Yassy river valley to Arpa valley. There are thick, two-meter walls reaching 2.5 meters with six towers as well as several ancient settlements of 4-1 centuries BC. Top

Kara-Suu, valley. Two lakes at an altitude of 1998 m, set amongst fir forests and meadow lands. There is a number of small villages along the valley with Community Based Tourism accommodation and other services. Three kilometers above is located Kyzyl-Kol, which in the summer months, offers opportunities for trekking and horse riding over passes on the northern and southern slopes of Sary-Chelek and Arkyt lakes. There are other horse riding and trekking routes that lead to Kara-Kamys lake and Chatkal valley through the Sary-Chelek bio-reserve, or the beautiful Jarik-Tash valley to Toktogul. The valley is populated with many small farms along the river. Many of them have been established since 1999 and some even lack electricity. It has been described as «a cultural landscape where a man is important but nature still dominates». Top

Kara-Tokoi, lake. On Chatkal ridge, north of Sary-Chelek lake, there is a place with a lot of high-mountain lakes. The sight of these picturesque lakes is striking with its natural, pristine beauty. The mountain slopes are covered with spruce forests. At the very top of the lift, in the valley, formed by high cliffs, presents a large bowl of dark blue Kara-Tokoi lake, which was formed by the confluence of Ishenkul and Kara-Tokoi rivers. The path runs along the forest zone, leading onto the alpine meadows and further down the alpine meadows to a pass. Here, at an altitude of 3000 meters, the cave paintings of wild animals are found (I-II centuries). Top

Karakol, gorge. It’s located near Karakol town and cuts 40 km into Terskey Ala-Too slopes, after which it rests against the glacial belt of the ridge. In May, the gorge starts blooming with snowdrops, primroses, alpine asters, edelweisses, tulips, yellow trollius (known as globeflower), white anemones, wild roses, buckthorns - turning hillsides into a flourishing park. Going up the gorge, only within a few hours it is possible to go from the steppe foothills to the mountain forests and open woodlands, proceeding to the subalpine and alpine meadows and even to the realm of eternal snow with bare rocks and glaciers. A lot of mountains are concentrated in the upper reaches of Karakol gorge, the peaks of which, are located at the snow line: Dzhigit (5130 m), Karakol (5281m), Przhewalsk (4283 m), Zhukova (4450 m), Thalman (4460 m), Dimitrova (4450m), Fuchika (4210 m) and Casstelo (4350 m). During the summer, a mountaineering camp operates at the mountains' foothills. The objects of tourist interest also include a complex of cascades of waterfalls, located in the thickets of juniper in Kurgun-Tor gorge; powerful waterfall -Ohn-Tor, which is cut in two by a rock, located in the gorge of the river - Ohn-Tor (left tributary of the river Karakol); cascade of Sharkyratma waterfalls - in the gorge of the same named right tributary of Kel-Tor river (the right tributary of Karakol river) and numerous moraine lakes. In 1997, on the territory of Karakol river valley, in order to preserve unique natural complexes, National Park was formed. The park is 8450 hectares. The park features more than 700 plant species, 23 mammal species and 150 bird species. From the biggest and most interesting animals found in Karakol gorge are ibex, roe deer, lynx, wild boar, snow leopards, wolves and bears. Eagles - golden eagles, bearded vultures and griffon vultures nest in the highlands.
The national park excursions are of a walking, riding and road design routes. There is an entrance fee to the park. On the slope of the right tributary of the Kashka-Suu, a ski resort is built. Before the left tributary of the Karakol river, on the left bank of the Karakol gorge are low passes, through which you can make the transition to the upper reaches of the picturesque Yrdyk valley, and visit the foothills of the vertices of Issyk-Kul feathers and the East (3500 m) in seven moraine-glacial lakes at the source of the river.
It is possible to get to the middle of a wooded gorge, Arashan, through the Kara-Kol pass, to visit two-headed tops of the Issyk-Kul scallops, where you can admire surrounding mountains and the majestic panorama of the Issyk-Kul lake. Top

Karalaev Sayakbai (1894-1971) is a Kyrgyz Soviet poet and manaschi. Sayakbai Karalaev was born in the town of Semiz-Bel, Issyk-Kul region in a family of a poor man Karala from Bugu family. He was employed being very young.. In 1916 he took part in an uprising of Kyrgyz people against the expansion of the Russian Empire. In 1918 he enlisted voluntarily in the Red Army. Until 1922 he fought at the Turkestan front against the White Guards and robber bands. After the war, he worked as chairman of the village council in villages near the town of Przhevalsk (Karakol) for 6 years.
Poetic abilities of Sayakbai began to manifest already in childhood. Sayakbai performed excerpts from Kyrgyz national epic "Manas", first heard from his grandmother, while serving in the Red Army. Karalaev began a professional performer of "Manas" in the late 1920s, after the meeting with the famous manaschi Choyuke Omurov. A few years Sayakbai was taught of manaschy art in Omurov’s house. In 1930 he was invited to Frunze (Bishkek) as a professional manaschi.
Sayakbai Karalaev had an excellent memory and he was well acquainted with the Kyrgyz national folklore. He played traditional epic themes of the trilogy epic "Manas", worked out by him and beautifully improvised them. He stored in the memory more than half a million lines of the epic "Manas" and other folk tales and legends. In the 30's and 40's of the XX century Karalayev recorded works "Semetei" and "Seitek" as well as fabulously heroic epic "Teshtyuk."
In 1939 Sayakbai Karalaev received the title of People's Artist of the Kyrgyz SSR. He was awarded three medals of the Red Banner, Order of "Badge of Honor" and several medals and diplomas of the Supreme Soviet of the Kyrgyz SSR.
The portrait of Sayakbai Karalaev is embossed on Kyrgyz banknotes of 500 som. Top

Karavshin, valley. Thirty kilometers east of Karavshin valley is a series of subparallel elongated in the meridional direction canyons: Dzhaupai, Tamyngen, Min-Teke, Dzhiptik and Khshemysh. These rarely visited places represent paradise for tourists and climbers. The walls reach up to 2000 meters in altitude, such as the northern wall of the peak of Ak-Suu. There are various types of rocks and they include strong, monolithic granite, limestone and sandstone. This area is called the "Asian Patagonia", because mountains and landscapes of this region resemble the South American Patagonia. However, the climate here is milder and valleys are more beautiful. There are also excellent opportunities for technical climbing here. To get to all of these gorges can be done by an auto-transport from Fergana valley. Then, it can take up to 1-2 days to reach them using animal transport (for example, horses). Top

Karkyra. (Black Crane). A high mountain valley at the extreme Eastern end of the Issyk-Kul plain. Herders bring their livestock here to graze on the fine pastures - and every summer there is a «cahbana» or horse festival held in the valley - but the time and place varies each year - apparently depending upon such things as the harvest.
There is a helipad here from which flights depart for ascents of Khan-Tengri and Peak Pobeda.Top

Karool-Dube, hillfort. Karool-Dube, hill-fort. Karool-Dube is located north of Karool-Dube village, on the left slope of the Chon-Baisoorun river valley, Issyk-Kul. The hillfort acted as the strengthening on the caravan route - one of the branches of the Silk Road, passing along the northern shore of the Issyk-Kul lake. The hill-fort consists of a fortress and annexes. The strengthening has two rectangular protective walls reinforced by several towers. Dimensions of the inner rectangle is 180x180 meters and external - 230x230 meters. There is a citadel inside the hill-fort. Currently, the walls of the strengthening present sloping shafts of up to 4 meters high. Some remains of buildings and ceramics of VIII-XII centuries were also found, in the cultural layer of up to 1,5 meters deep. Top

Kashka-Suu, gorge. It is located 35 km from Bishkek. There is a ski base there. There is a number of beautiful waterfalls just above the mountain river, from 5 to 10 meters. Neighboring slopes are covered with archa, barbaris, sweet-brier and other wild bushes. The air is filled with aromas of plants. Kashka-Suu gorge rests on the foothills of Komsomolets (4140 m) and Pioneer (4050 m) peaks that can be seen on the way from Bishkek. There are some cozy cottages, sauna, ski lift and ski rental at your service on the ski base. Top

Kazarman, town. Kazarman town has a reputation of being a "Wild-West" type of town - possibly due to nearby open-cast gold mining and its refining facilities. It is located on the main road between Naryn and Jalalabad, and serves as a stopping point on this journey. The road is closed for most of the year due to heavy snowfalls. River Naryn and mountains surround this town. On the outskirts of Kazarman town, ruins of the hill-fort are still preserved, reminding of this town in X-XII centuries. Monuments of the Saks and Usun's era are presented as scattered 3-5 meter high mounds, which contain burials. Top

Kegety, gorge. Ninety kilometers east of Bishkek lies Kegety valley with steep forested slopes. The map shows a road passing over the mountains towards Kochkor - but it is not really passable - the road is blocked by landslides and even in the height of summer, it is almost impossible to get there on horseback.
One of the largest tributaries is the river, At - Djailoo, located 11 km from the forest. At-Djailoo gorge forms a beautiful suburb, where mines as well as a cascading waterfall are located. It will take one to two days to get to Kel-Tor lake (known as Dead Lake) with its turquoise water. From the gorge, you can visit Bel-Saz jailoo, Sharkeratma waterfall, Kushkonok and Kyzyl-Belez forests, as well as Chaund Gorom and Kara-Unkur (Crying cave) places. It is also possible to make a trip to the neighbouring gorges such as Tuyuk and Karagai-Bulak.There is a 20-meter waterfall, where the water is overthrown from the limy terrace. This waterfall is located very close to road that goes through the gorge and is convenient for tourists. Kegety village lies at the entrance of the gorge. The road to the gorge separates from the main highway from Ivanovka and goes through the following villages - Ak-Sai, Rotfront and Leskhoz. Top

Kek-Suu. In the mountains, near the border with Tajikistan are a number of petroglyps.Top

Kel-Kogur, lake (3289 m). It is located in the ridge of Kungei Alatoo and belongs to the basin of Chon-Kemin river. Kel-Kogur river flows from the lake and becomes the left tributary of Chon-Kemin. The lake is located in the beautiful forest area. On the right side of the Chon-Kemin river is a house of the Chon-Kemin National Park keeper. There is a rope with a suspended cradle spanned across the river, where for a certain fee, you can be transported to the opposite side of the river. From here to the lake is about six kilometers. The lake stretches from north to south. To the north is a natural dam, which resulted from the landslide. The western shore of the lake is covered with spruce forest, whereas the east coast is grassy. Top

Kel-Suu, Lake (3514 m), Naryn region. It is located near the Chinese border. A special permit is required to visit the lake and can be obtained at the border control station of Naryn.
The lake was formed after a massive collapse of sliding rock and looks like a winding canyon. It is 9 km in length, 0,5-2 km wide, with surface area of 4.5 square kilometers and holds 338 million cubic meters of water.
When you reach the lake you will be carried away by its beauty. You will have a fantastic view from the dam to the cliffs, which are hundreds feet high, waterfalls, rocky island, caves, and grottoes. The turquoise color lake is surrounded by the steep, snow covered peaks even during the summer months.
Approximately two kilometers away, between the steep canyon walls, you can see the rock island about fifty meters high. The rocks are made of strange background of grottoes, caves and depressions.
To get the full view and enjoyment of the lake, you need to go on a boat. The caves are also very interesting. The main one has a narrow entrance and is hiding in the rocks on the right side of the dam. First, you get into a large, tall hall with an “altar” and then the cave descends and splits into two narrow pass ways. There are no stalactites, but the walls of the lower corridor are covered with an interesting texture similar to coral reef and decorated with water crystals. It is very cold here even during summer. A fantastic and unforgettable place. Top

Kel-Tor lake (2734). Kel-Tor gorge, Chui valley. It is amazing lake with a turquoise water. The lake has an unusual summit called "Sugarloaf" with a hanging glacier. The highest peak is 4253 meters.

Kel-Tor lake (3077 m). Upper reaches of the river At Bashi, Naryn region. To cross the river At-Bashy is possible through the old bridge into the side canyon. If to go around the bend and the canyon there is the ascent to the other side of the shore. It presents a spectacular panorama. Top

Kel-Ukock. The «Lake in a Chest» - a quiet, peaceful lake with cold and crystal clear waters - to the South east of Kochkor. Like Lake Issyk-Kul, a number of rivers flow into the lake, but none flow out. With a maximum depth of 17 meters, it is home to Savan trout (a multi colored fish) and White fish.Top

Kelin-Tash (Bride Stone). Madaniyat village, Bakai-Ata region, Talas. No guardian. Type of mazar – stone. The mazar is situated on the right side of the road near the village. It is located near the river. Close to it is a high mountain and trees and bushes. There, there is a stone that resembles a young woman in a white turban (ileeki). Top

Kemin. A regional administrative center which used to be called Bystrovka - and some older locals still call it that.
There is a statue of Shabdan Batyr, a 19th century chieftain of the Sary-Bagysh tribe who ruled the region and is highly regarded as a national hero - and a monument to those who died in the Civil War. Top

Ken-Kol, cemetery. It is located in Talas region on the river Ken-Kol, the right tributary of Talas river. Ken-Kol cemetery refers to 4-2 centuries BC. It consists of 60 mounds, in which ancient nomadic tribes performed burials. Burials were performed in underground vaulted chambers and rectangular holes, sometimes in wooden coffins or on a wooden bed. Racial type of the buried was Caucasoid with admixture of Mongoloid features. Skulls were artificially deformed. During the excavations the following items were found - clay and wooden tableware, arrows with iron and bone heads, bows with bone lining, bronze, mirrors, wooden tables, clothes made of silk, pottery incense burners. Top

Ketmen-Tube basin. It is located to the north-east of Fergana valley. It shares borders with the regions of Central Tien-Shan and is part of a vast inter-mountain depression (50-55 km long and 0.5-20 km wide). High mountain ranges surround it, concluding it in natural borders in the basin of a middle tributary of Naryn river, and its right and left tributaries: Uzun-Akmat, Chichkan, Torken, Toluk, Nitchke, etc. The total area is 8170 square kilometres. Ketmen-Tube is an extremely scenic area, where the dead marshes interspersed with flowering cornfields and pine-covered gorges with semi-desert plains. Geologists say that once upon a time, Ketmen-Tube basin was a lake. This area is fenced by high mountain ranges, the passes of which are blocked by snowdrifts. Until recently, it was only possible to get here within 4-5 months a year. The only way, open year-round, was a path through a narrow and a rocky Naryn gorge. The valley lies at an altitude of 800-1000 m above sea level. Ketmen-Tube valley, due to its inaccessibility, long remained uncharted archaeologically. By saturation of monuments of nomads, valley had no equal opponents in the eastern part of Central Asia. The first information on its antiquities belong to a famous explorer of Kyrgyzstan, A. N. Bernshtam, who visited this region in 1946. Since the late 50's, there was work carried out on a number of multi-sites of monuments in Ketmen-Tube. On the relatively small area of the valley, a little more than 10-15 km, a large number of burials of Saks-Usun time is concentrated. They are located on high terraces along the river banks of Chichkan, Naryn and Uzun-Akmat. Since 1962, construction began on the Toktogul hydroelectric power station. In 1973, construction was completed, Ketmen-Tube basin began to be filled with water with the formation of the Toktogul reservoir. With the filling of the reservoir, the lowland areas of the basin have gone under the water. More than 26,000 hectares of land got flooded, including several villages and a district centre - Toktogul village. Many historical monuments ended up at the bottom of the water. Every now and then, waves bring up shards and other artefacts on the shore. Top

Keykap, river. Left and last tributary of the river Sary-Jaz, which empties into it near China's border. The fall of the river reaches forty meters per kilometer. Narrow canyon, with steep walls, is scattered with boulders, where rushing stream forms an extended trough in limestones and shales. This area can only be reached by helicopter or via horse trail over-coming high mountain passes and deep canyons. There are traces found of once-cultivated fields on river terraces and Kyrgyz Mausoleum that is located on a steep arrow between the mouths of Terekty and Maybash, after them merging together, where Keykap river begins. At the confluence of the river Kyzyl - kapchigai, Keykap valley broadens somewhat, but again forms a canyon below the gorge and up until the confluence of the Sary-Jaz it is completely impassable. "Keykap" is translated as "far-distant lands" or "ends of the earth" from Kyrgyz. Top

Khan Debe An ancient 8th century settlement - abandoned in the 12th century - the remains near the village of Tora Suu, about 20 km to the south of Bokonbaeva, on the southern shore of the lake. Basically all that remains is a stretch of fortifications and a gateway.Top

Khan-Tengri, peak. Khan-Tengri peak is 6995 meters high (however, it has recently been changed to 7010 m), and is located on the border with China. This is one of the highest peaks of the Tien-Shan. The Khan Tengri is a beautiful pyramidal peak. Its name means "Lord of heaven". Local name of Kau-Tau mountain (Blood Mountain) is due to its red color, which it takes during the sunset. Most climbers travel to the base camp, situated at the foot of Khan-Tengri, by helicopter. During the 25-minute trip, there is an amazing panoramic view of Central Tien-Shan. To reach the top takes about two weeks including acclimatization. The first successful ascent was in 1931. At the foot of the mountain is Enilchek glacier and mysterious Mertzbakher lake, which every year in July - August, goes under the ice crust. The most favorable season to climb the Khan-Tengri is July - August. During this period, the weather is more mild and stable. February - early March is the winter season for climbing. The temperature can drop to -30 C on top of the mountain. Good weather can hold up to 10 days. Due to close proximity to the Chinese border, a special permission is required to entry this area. The pass must be arranged prior to arrival. Top

Kichi-Kemin, gorge. Kemin district (2600 m). It was once the largest plant for the processing of rare earth metals and mining ore, the village is named in honor of the tract. In Kyrgyz, "Ak-Tyuz" means "white valley". There are now only partially-demolished concrete remains left there. During the war, lead was extracted in Ak-Tyuz, but in 1948, the mines were bricked. In their place developed wastewater in orange-red color - color of the metal concentrate and three towers, surrounded by concrete pillars and barbed wire. The construction is decorated with "No Trespassing" sign. Mountains surrounding Ak-Tyuz, hide almost entire periodic table in their depth. Top

Kirkidan. To the West of Osh, close by the border with Uzbekistan, lies the site of an ancient settlement dating from between the 4th century BC and the 4th century AD. Top

Koguchkon-Sugat, waterfall. It is a hydro-geological reserve (a monument of nature). It is located in Chunkurchak gorge, in the very beginning of the canyon. Small but high waterfall (26 m) Koguchkon-Sugat, better known as "Pigeon's watering hole", is beautiful at any time of the year. In the winter, it forms a long icicle-tube within which the water falls down with the noise. Top

Koi-Sary, hill-fort. West of Karakol, in the area of Koi-Sary, at the bottom of the Issyk-Kul lake, is where the ruins are of a small ancient town that was flooded in the late XV-XVI centuries, however it "emerged" from under the waters of the shoaled lake in the XX century. Items that were found during excavations included millstones, granite bowl of unknown purpose, ceramic water pipes and ware, copper pots and coins, as well as human skulls and bones. The accumulation of burnt bricks, partly decorated with tiles, were found under the water, could only represent remains of the walls. Other items that were found consisted of metallurgical production, slag and ingots of ball iron smelted by local residents from the coastal Issyk-Kul iron sand in ancient times. Necropolis was also excavated along with groups of burials. Judging by the list of items, these were the remains of multi-temporal monuments, distant from one another from the first millennium BC to mid-second millennium AD.
In Soviet times, it housed 954-I anti-submarine weapons testing base of "Koi-Sary". In 1992, the base established an OAO "Ulan". They set up mutually beneficial cooperation with the Ministry of Defence of India. Orders from India have helped save the company.
In parallel, in the village of Koi-Sary, there is a similar profile joint of Kyrgyz-Russian enterprise, "Lake", that operates there.
Nearby, is the climate midland lakeside steppe resort of Koi-Sary. Currently leased to Russia. Top

Kojo-Kelen (Great Hodzha), village. It is located in the picturesque locality of the Alai range spurs, 110 km from Osh town, at an altitude of 2200 meters in the river valley of Dzhiptyk, left tributary of the Ak-Buura river. The road passes through Papan reservoir, 2 Passes: Papan (1700 m) and Kojo-Kelen (3200 m); 2 Canyons: Sharpyldak (Babbling) and Chal-Kuiruk (Old tail), 22 km and 6 km in length respectively. Homes in the Kojo-Kelen village are made of red and black clay. Beyond the village are fantastic orange rocks. Unusual rocks of Kojo-Kelen cover more than 300 square kilometers. Here, you can see narrow canyons, waterfalls and oddly shaped cliffs and rocks. At the foot of cliffs (1 km) is Kojo-Kelen cave - Blue Grotto. At the bottom of the cave is a lake formed by pure spring water. Two thirds of the floor is filled with crystal-clear water, where ringing water jets run down the smooth ceiling. Grotto and the lake are a place of worship for Muslims. On the way, you can see the water mill. Three kilometers from the Kojo-Kelen village is a waterfall, Kojo-Kelen. The waterfall is 50 meters high. Above the village of Kojo-Kelen (20 km) upstream of Dzhiptyk river is Jailoo (2700 m). If you climb the Dzhiptyk pass (4185 m), you can see the beautiful panorama of the Lenin Peak (7134 m). Top

Kok-Moinok, canyons. They are located 30 km west of Balykchy city on the left bank of Chu. These are natural attractions, where there are unique "Aeolian castles" - sculpturally weathered indigenous forms of red sand cliffs, reminding whimsical fairy constructions. Top

Kok-Moinok, gorge. It is located 75 km from Bishkek in Tuyuk Issykatinsky forestry. Kok-Moinok river is a tributary of Tuyuk. In a place of rivers confluence is a tour base. Kok-Moinok is a large and beautiful gorge, the slopes of which are covered with coniferous forest. Above the gorge is a Kok-Moinok lake, the path to which, runs past the two-stage waterfall that swirls between rocks. The Kok-Moinok lake (2500 m) is located at the peak of "Sugar Head". Then, it is possible to climb the Kok-Moinok pass (2911 m) and descend into the Issyk-Ata gorge. Top
Kokomeren (Kekemeren), river. Kekemeren river forms from Suusamyr and Eastern Karakol rivers merging together. It runs through a narrow valley south from Suusamyr valley, past the village of Aral (in Naryn region - 1400 meters above sea level), until it eventually flows into Naryn river. Along Kekeremen river shores, is an automobile road, which allows anyone to enjoy the views of the river the whole way. This place is popular for water rafting. At the beginning, the river is relatively calm, but gradually, more and more obstacles appear making it a much more demanding course. From spring to autumn, fishing is also a popular activity on the river. Top

Konur-Olen. Is a 40-kilometer beautiful intermountain valley of meadows and marshes, which runs parallel to the main road between Balykchi and Bokonbaevo. It is located at an altitude of 2200 m. This valley represents the green mountain slopes, small lakes full of waterfowl, and vintage domed burial - Gumbez. Top

Konorchok - look Sulu-Terek, dry canyons. Top

Korumdu, village. The name of the village Korumdu is associated with an abundance of stones - Korum, in this area. The word, Korum, means "a pile of large stones fallen off the Big Rocks." The village is situated on the north shore of the Issyk-Kul lake, 25 km east of Cholpon-Ata town, at the foot of the mountains in the immediate vicinity of the lake, whence opens a spectacular view. In the basin of the following rivers - Korumdu, Kum-Bel and Karagai, there are petroglyphs and mounds of VI century BC - VIII century CE.
In Korumdu, there is an ethnographic park and discovered petroglyphs. Within a short distance from the shore, opposite the village, archaeologists found fragments of ancient pots belonging to the Bronze Age. Knife handles featuring figures of horses and sheep especially stand out from the findings. The horses look very realistic, with a large head, long tail and a well-developed leg muscles - typical to steppe horses. One of the most interesting findings from the bottom of the lake Issyk-Kul is a sacrificial table, which is almost square in shape. This structure rests on four figures of women, 22 cm high. The figures are well preserved. Eyes, broad nose, oval chin, short and strong neck. Scientists believe that this is how ancient inhabitants of the Issyk-Kul region looked like. Another finding, represents a large hemispherical sacrificial pot with two horizontal handles and tamga (owner's stamp), which depicts a moon crescent looking down. These pots were used extensively in this region in the second half of the first millennium. More than 10 of these pots were found at the bottom of the lake. The large size of these pots spoke about the great festivals of ancient herdsmen in honour of their gods. Top

Korumdu. A jailoo to the West of Kochkor in the Kyzart mountains. The highest point is 4400 m, but it averages 3800 m. Top

Korumdy, mountain node. It is located on the highest point in the very centre of Zalai (or Chon-Alai) ridge. Along with the mountain node, Achik-Tash prove to be a popular region for mountain climbing. Mountain complex consists of powerful glaciers and peaks: Dzerzhinsky (6716 m), Kyzyl-Agyn (6663 m) and Estonia (6202 m). Korumdy peak (6613 m) is located 60 km east of Achik-Tash. From the west, Korumdy peak is adjoined by three unnamed peaks with the following elevations: 6243 m, 6283 m and 6080 m. One of the peaks - Zarya Vostoka or Dawn of the East (6349 m) is located right on the border of Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and China. Several peaks with a height of more than 6 thousand meters still remain unconquered. Top

Korzhenevskogo, glacier. This glacier is located in Zaalai ridge on its northern slope and is the largest glacier in Osh region. It is situated east of Lenin peak, at the headwaters of Zhanaidartak river (basin of Kyzyl-Su river). Korzhenevskogo glacier is a mountain-valley glacier of a detrital type, length of which is 19.5 km with an area of 89.1 sq. km. The tip of the glacier is at an altitude of 3800 m. It is named in honor of the geographer, N.L. Korzhenevsky, who discovered it in 1928.. Top

Koshoi-Korgon, hill-fort. Koshoy-Korgon is located 12 km from the village of At-Bashy, Naryn region. It represents the remains, which existed in the VII-X centuries, on the caravan trade route of a fortified city, which had a rate of Turkic Khans. There are five meter high walls - a small part of the ruins of the citadel, X-XII centuries. The fortress has a rectangular shape. Total length of the walls is more than 1000 m. The walls are made of clay and reinforced with towers. Excavations on the site revealed a number of buildings of adobe bricks. The floors were partly in clay, partly paved with stone and plaster walls have preserved traces of paintings of blue, white, yellow and red colors. Among the findings of clay, bones, stones and metal, grain graters were also found, thus it should be noted that people engaged in agriculture in this highland region, located at an altitude of about 3,000 meters above sea level, as well as jewellery making from jade and pearls. Top

Kubat-biy (XVIII century). Kubat-biy was a politician, military leader, the leader of the Kyrgyz kind inhabiting Ferghana valley in the XVIII century. He was also the ruler of Kushchi tribe. Kubat-biy defended the freedom and independence of the Kyrgyz tribes from Jungar invaders. He led the Kyrgyz army in alliance with the Kokand against the Jungars. He was called the "King of the Kyrgyz." He considered himself competent to direct messages to the Chinese emperor. In 1855, by the request of Zhusup-Kojo from Kashgar, leading the liberation struggle against the Qing Empire, Kubat-biy took his troops and left to East Turkestan. After that, his fate was unknown. Top

Kuilyu, ridge. This district is located south of the eastern end of the Issyk-Kul lake, halfway between the lake shore and China's border. The climate here is similar to the climate of the Central Tien-Shan, although somewhat milder. Annual precipitation is 694 mm, the highest rainfall occurs in summer months and the lowest in winter. Average winter temperature is -16°C, in spring and autumn is -7°C, in June is +2°C, in July and August is +4°C, and in September is +0.5°C. The Kuilyu ridge extends about 50 km in a north-eastern direction and 30 km in a north-western direction. An array lies within the borders of the following rivers - Kuilyu, Sary-Jaz, Uch-Kel and Sarychat. Heights reach up to 5285 m (Constitution Peak), the relief is much more dissected than in the nearby Akshiyrak ridge and the heights exceeding levels reach up to 1100 meters. There are many rock walls and powerful stages of ice-falls here, among numerous glacial cirques. Most of the peaks in this district are pristine and there are many opportunities for first ascents and new routes. There is a variation of routes, from light and medium to high difficulties. The rocks are composed of metamorphic and igneous nature. Depending on the type of rocks, some are found broken and some monolithic. This district can be reached by car from Karakol town, through Chon-Ashu pass (3822 m) and Enilchek village, on a mountain road in a 4x4 vehicle, 165 km. From the end of the road, it may take 1-2 days to reach places of ascents. Top

Kungei Ala-Too (Kungei Alatau), a mountain ridge in the north of Tien-Shan, which borders with Issyk-Kul basin from the north. The length of Kungei Ala-Too ridge is about 275 km. It extends from the Boom gorge (Chu River) to San-Tash pass in the east. Some peaks rise to 4300-4700 m, with the highest point being Chok-Tal mountain (4771 m). It is mostly an alpine relief. On the northern slopes and in canyons, the forests are from Tien-Shan spruce, on the southern slopes there are mountain steppes, and above, there are mountain meadows and meadow steppes. There are more than 430 glaciers covering the area of 410 km². Top

Kurmanjan Mamatbai kyzy, Datka (1811-1907) - was an outstanding states woman of the Kyrgyz Republic. She may also be known as "The Tsarina of Alai" or "The Queen of the South". The word Datka means "General" as she was awarded the title twice. Born into a simple nomad family of the Mongush clan in the Alai mountains, at the age of 18 she was supposed to marry a man whom she did not "see until her wedding day - when she met him, she did not like him" and broke the tradition. In 1832, the feudal lord, Alimbek - who had taken the title Datka and ruled all the Kyrgyz of the Alai, freed her from the "marriage contract" and married her. Alimbek died after a palace coup in 1862, and Kurmanjan gathered around her faithful "batyrs" - heroes. She went on to govern the Alai and was recognized by the khans of Bukhara and Kokand, later marrying one of the batyrs. In 1876, the Alai region joined the Russian Empire. Two of her sons and two of her grandsons were accused of "contraband" and of murdering customs officials - and even her status could not help save them. When her favorite son was executed (hung in the main square of Osh), she refused the urge of some of her followers to affect the rescue, saying that she would not want her private hopes and ambitions to be the cause of suffering for her people. The others were then exiled to penal servitude in Siberia, and Kurmanjan (suffering from insult and shame) retired from public life - giving away all her property and leading a hermit like existence in a village, refusing all visitors. She died on 1, February 1907 in the village of Mady, near Osh - gripping the dressing gown of her favorite son. Top

Kurmenty, village. Between streets and houses of Kurmenty village about 15 mounds are still preserved. When entering and leaving the village, there are mounds stretched in chains in the north-south direction. In the north-east, there are 8 mounds and in the west there are 3. Their height vary from 2-3,5 metres. These mounds date to Saks-Usun times. Outside the village on a hill, once an island, an entrance to the underground catacombs can be found. This entrance is a narrow hole, gradually expanding, with small rooms, reminiscent of monastic cells, there are about thirty of them. Archaeologists suggest the existence of lower layers, which are now covered with earth. According to one of the legends, above the village in Kurmenty gorge, when Nestorian monks were fleeing the troops of Genghis Khan, they buried their wealth and Christian relics in a cave. According to another version - the treasure belonged to Kalmyks. Since 1927 to the present day, treasure hunt involved government agencies and private individuals. To the south of the village Kurmenty, on one of the backwaters of the Tyup bay is a settlement, rectangular in shape with sides of 230x320 metres. Preserved height of the fortress walls is from 2-4 metres. At the corners and perimeter of the walls are towers. In VIII-XII centuries, this city played an important role in the life of the settled population of the north-eastern part of the Issyk-Kul. Top

Kuturgu, village. Tyup district, Issyk-Kul. North-east of the village, there are seven large mounds up to 26 meters in diameter and up to 2 meters high, a long distance from each other. On the territory of the Kuturgu village, six mounds with diameters of 9-15 meters and up to 1.5 meter high, are recorded. On the western side of the village, there are nine mounds located with a considerable distance from each other. The embankments are earthy, thus badly damaged. Dimensions: 8 -14 meters in diameter and up to 1 meter high. There is a gorge, in which there are about hundred different types of mounds registered. There are sketches made of stone in rectangular and round shapes, and also stone fences. Up the gorge, there are petroglyphs, in groups and individually, on boulders and rocks. In the school yard of Herzen in the Kuturgu village, four stone balbals are placed in the ground and are cemented down, which were brought by the students from nearby mounds from the southeastern side of the village and installed in the school yard in 1982-1983 under the guidance of teachers. Top

Kyrgyz-Ata gorge (70 km from Osh city). All sides of the valley are surrounded by pointy, covered with snow caps, tops of the spur of Kichik-Alai. In the upper part of the zone, the tracts of Mazar, Kaoldai and Karagoi prominently stand out. In the lower stream near the confluence of Kyrgyz-Ata and Hoschan, in the Naukat valley, is the canyon known to the locals as Aravan Dunghi. Here, the river has protruded the stone ridge of the mountain massif, Tui-Muyun, height of almost 300 meters. On the right side of the steep walls of the river Aravan Sai, images are carved of mountain goats, horses and ritual symbols, known as Naukat petroglyphs. There are caves within the canyon, which are accessible to the public. In the valley of Kyrgyz-Ata, in the middle reaches of the river, on its left bank, is a botanical reserve, area of 30 hectares which was created to protect the growing areas of saffron and certain type of tulips. There are several sources of mineral waters. There are also many cultural and historical sites, mostly ancient settlements and burial grounds, scattered across this territory. Top

Kyrgyz-Ata. («Father of the Kyrgyz») A national park in the mountains, south of the road between Osh and Kyzyl-Kia, established to protect the archa forests which grow here. Top

Kyrk Kyzdyn Unkuru (Cave of Forty Girls). Madaniyat village, Bakai-Ata region, Talas.
No guardian. Type of mazar – ditch. The mazar is located on the mountainside. Although the mountain is made of hard stone and cement-like rock, people dug the ditch in it by hand (without any machines) along the mountainside. In order to ensure the water would not erode it, the sides of the ditch were thoroughly reinforced by stones. The length of the ditch is 15 kilometers, and its depth is 0.5 meters. On the right side of the road there is a valley where Ürmaral River flows. Around the river are thick bushes and trees. On the other side of the river there is a high mountain. Top

Kyz-Art, Pass (2664 m). Kyz-Art is located along the road between Kochkor and Chaek. It can serve as a starting point to go over the mountains to the Son-Kul Lake. Top

Kyzyl-Art, pass (4280 m). It is located in the eastern part of Zaalaisky ridge, (East Pamir), on the border of Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. The Kyzyl-Art pass goes through the auto-road of Osh - Khorog (Pamir highway) with a fairly gentle climb from Alai valley to the picturesque gorge, where a panorama of glaciers and snowy peaks opens up. The southern descent that goes into a wide desert valley of Markansu river is relatively steep. Top

Kyzyl-Bel Pass. About 24 kilometers South of Naryn, on the road to Torugart, the pass offers a splendid view down the valley with the crest of the At-Bashi range to the East. Top

Kyzyl Nuura (Red Nuura). Boo-Terek village, Bakai-Ata region, Talas.
No guardian. Type of mazar – construction on the top of the hill. It covers an area of 1,5-2 hectares to the south of Boo-Terek village. There is a high hill in the middle of sown land. On the top of the hill, there is a construction made of bricks. Top

Kyzyl-Oi, village. Kyzyl-Oi translated as "Red Bowl" from Kyrgyz - the village is located at 1800 meters above sea level, 40 kilometers southeast of Suusamyr village on the main road to Kochkor and Son-Kul. The road travels through the narrow gorge of the Kokomeren river and into a wide bowl surrounded by red coloured mountains. The local clay soil was used to build houses, which gives the village a distinctive style and character. The mountains surrounding the village offer potential for hiking and horse trekking; and the river for rafting. The Jailoo Chet-Tor, about 5 km from the village has a number of mineral springs. There is an opportunity to stay in yurts.
This can be a base for further exploration to Kel-Tor gorge and its glacial lake. The Chon-Tash jailoo, which is a gentle 40-minute horse ride from the village, leads on to the Munkur pass to a glacier feeding three mountain lakes. Top

Kyzyl-Suu, settlement. It is located south of Kyzyl-Suu village, Issyk-Ata district, 35 km southeast of Tokmok city. It is assumed that these are the remains of the ancient city, Saryg. During excavations, there were found remains of the Sogdian, Buddhist temples, buildings and cemetery. The walls of homes were lined with patterns. A dilapidated statue of Buddha 8 m long (initially - 12 m) and 1.5 m wide was found also. There were items made of pottery, glass, iron, stones, bones, jewellery, coins, monuments with Sogdian, Arab and Syrian slogans. The city existed in the V-XII centuries. Top

Kyzyl-Suu gorge in the Chui valley. It is located south of Tokmok city. Tokmok is translated as "red water" from Kyrgyz. At a certain season, the waters of Kyzyl-Suu river become red. Kyzyl-Suu river breaks out of the ground from under a big, human-like head rock. Scientists explain this unusual color of the water due to large stocks of red clay and sand that is washed out by the river. The winding road on the pastures of Kyzyl-Suu runs along the picturesque coast of the river. From jailoo Kyzyl-Suu it is possible to see the picturesque panorama. From one side, it is possible to see the slope of the Shamshi ridge, and on the other - the mountains that separate the Chui valley from the Issyk-Kul basin. There is a beautiful fir forest in the mountains above jailoo. Local people say that the color of the water reminds people of treason and warns them of the bad things. A legend says: "A long time ago, an evil sorcerer stole and bewitched a beautiful princess and took her to the mountains, where Kyzyl-Suu river now originates. To break the spell of witchcraft, it was necessary to kill the sorcerer. Two brave young men, beloved brothers of the princess went to rescue her. An older brother first found the sorcerer. He fought for a few days and nights. On the fourth day he killed the sorcerer and freed the princess. But he lost a lot of energy in his fight, and before he went back, he laid down and fell asleep. Whilst he slept, the younger brother cut his head off and took the princess. In the place where the older brother was killed, a spring of water appeared of a red color." Top

Kyrgyzstan travel