The encyclopedia of the tourist
(Maili-Sai) town. Jalalabat region. It is located 100 kilometers
from Jalalabat and 550 kilometers from Bishkek. The city is located in
a mountainous area in the floodplain of the Mailuu-Suu at the height of
800-900 meters above sea level. The distance to the border of Uzbekistan
is 24 kilometres. According to the census of Kyrgyzstan in 2009, the city's
population is 23,000 people including Kyrgyz - 76%, Russian - 10.4%, Uzbeks
- 7.4%, and Tatars - 3.8%.
Since 1901, there has been production of oil in the vicinity of Mailuu-Suu,
which in turn has given the name to the river, and later the city - Mailuu-Suu
(translated as "oily water", and Maili-Sai as "oil-gorge" or tract).
In 1929, Academician Fersman discovered radio-barite deposits in the tract
of Mailuu-Suu. The development of the Mailuu-Suu deposit began in 1946
and lasted until 1968. For 22 years (1946-1968) there has been 10 tons of
uranium oxide extracted and processed on the two hydro-plants on the site
of Mailuu-Suu. Prior to 1968, Mailuu-Suu had the status of the 'closed'
city. In 1968, the last mine and plant were closed down.
In 1964, a construction of Maili-Sai electro-lamp factory began with
a capacity of 300 million pieces of bulbs per year, including 200 million
of normal lighting, and 100 million pieces of automotive lamps. In addition
to the mines, there were two enrichment plants in Mailuu-Suu, processing
not only their own ore but also the raw materials of nearby mines - Shekaftar,
Kyzyl-Jar, etc., located in the Fergana Valley. The ore has been imported
from Eastern Germany, Czechoslovakia and Bulgaria. To work in the mines
and in construction of enrichment mines (as well as the city), people from
Povolzhie, Tatars from Crimea, and also all the unwanted in Soviet power
were brought here at the end of the war. In late 2002, the factory was
sold to the B.A.B.C Trading Holding. Near the town are the world's largest
repositories of radioactive waste. In 2006, the city was named as one
of the 10 most polluted cities in the world. Top
Maldybaev, Abdylas Maldybaevich - composer.
He was born on 7 July, 1906 in Kara-Bulak village, Chui region. In 1929,
he graduated from the Kyrgyz Pedagogical College and was accepted into the
troupe of the Kyrgyz studio. He then studied at the Kazakh-Kyrgyz Institute
of Education in the city of Almaty. In 1929-1930, he was in charge of teaching
and was a teacher at Kyrgyz music and drama studio. In 1930-1933, he was
a director of the Kyrgyz Music College. In 1933-1936 - he was an artist
of the Kyrgyz State Theatre, and he was a soloist of the Kyrgyz Music
and Drama Theatre since 1936 (1942 onwards - Theatre of Opera and Ballet).
In 1940, he began his studies at the Moscow Conservatory. He graduated
from it in 1950 in the composition class. In 1953-1954 - he was a director
of Music and Choreography School in Frunze. Together with Vladimir Vlasov
and V. G. Fer composers, he participated in creation of the first Kyrgyz
music dramas and operas: "Adjal Orduna" ("Not death, but life", 1938), "Aichurek"
("Moonlight Beauty", 1939 ), "Patriots" (1941), "Manas" (1946), "Toktogul"
(1958) and others.
He was the first performer of Lensky party on the Kyrgyz stage ("Eugene
Onegin" by Tchaikovsky). He was the author of the music for the National
Anthem of the Kyrgyz SSR (1946). Maldybaev was a deputy of the Supreme
Soviet of the USSR 1-convocation, also a deputy of the Supreme Soviet of
the Kyrgyz SSR 2-4-th convocation. In the years of 1939-1967 - he was
the chairman of the Composers' Union of Kyrgyzstan. He was elected (since
1948) as a member of the Union of Soviet Composers and the Committee on
State prizes of the USSR. The Kyrgyz National Academic Theatre of Opera
and Ballet carries the name "Maldybaev" since 1978.
Awards: An honoured artist of the Kyrgyz SSR (1937); National
artist of SSSR (1939); Order of Lenin (1939); Three orders of Red Banner
of Labour (1946, 1951, 1958); "Badge of Honour" order (1966); Order of
the October Revolution (1976); Medal "For Valiant Labour in the Great Patriotic
War of 1941-1945" (1945); Medal for "Excellence in work " (1964); State
Prize of the Kyrgyz SSR of Toktogul (1970). The portrait of Maldybaev is
depicted on the Kyrgyz 1 som banknote. Top
(Gumbez). In the Talas valley, at the foot of the Manastyn Chokosu
hill, stands the ancient mausoleum - the Manas Gumbez.
There is a popular belief that the legendary hero of
the Kyrgyz epic Manas is buried here. The legend connected with
his name has it that the Manas Mausoleum, an unmatched piece in beauty
and grandeur, was erected by order of Manas' faithful wife, Kanykei.
In order to preserve the treasure buried together with Manas, Kanykei
ordered that a misleading inscription should be made to the effect
that Manas’ bride had been buried on the spot. But in fact it is only
a beautiful folk fiction. The scientist revealed the truth M. E. Mason;
according to him the mausoleum was constructed by Emir Abuki in 1334
in honor of his deceased daughter. The Manas gumbez is a portal and
dome mausoleum with a pointed interior cupola and an exterior ribbed
tent placed on the seamed drum, crowing an almost cubic shaped chamber.
The portal with a pointed entrance niche is decorated with the columns,
adorned with diverse compositions of figured belts and faced with carved
terra-cotta plates with fine ornaments and inscriptions. The design of
the gumbez is a vivid sample of the interpenetration of decorative and
applied arts in an architectural masterpiece.
The grand structure has been restored and now appears
in its full beauty. Top
Masaliev, Absamat Masalievich (10/04/1933 -
01/08/2004). He was born in the Alysh village, Frunze district of Osh region.
He graduated from the Kyzyl-Kiya Mining College (1953), the Moscow Mining
Institute (1956), and Alma-Ata Higher Party School (1964). he became a mining
Between 1956-1961, Masaliev worked in the mining industry. Between 1961-1985,
he worked in different party positions. From 1985 to 1991, he was the First
Secretary of the Communist Kyrgyzstan. In 1990, Masaliev was a chairman
of the Supreme Council of Kyrgyzstan. Since 1992, he was the leader of the
Party of Communists of Kyrgyzstan. Between 1993-2001, he worked at various
public positions. He was a member of the CPSU Central Committee (1986-1991),
then a member of the Polit-bureau of the CPSU Central Committee (1990-1991).
He was a member of the Supreme Soviet USSR of 10-11th convocation. He was
also a national people's deputy of the USSR (1989-1991). Masaliev was a deputy
of Kyrgyzstan's Supreme Council of the 12th Legislature (1990-1991). He
had a title of "Hero of the Kyrgyz Republic." He was awarded the Order of
the October Revolution, twice with the Red Banner of Labour, and "Manas"
of the III degree. He received "Commonwealth" (Order of the Inter-parliamentary
Assembly of the CIS, 2003) medals.
His wife - Kozubaeva, Hayryhon Kolchakovna (1939); daughters - Aysalkyn
(1958) and Aichurek (1965); sons - Is'haq (1960) and Musa (1961).
Masaliev was the author of the book "Pages of Life and poor our homeland"
(1993). In 2006, a monument of Masaliev was installed in the central square
of Batken city. In 2008, a stamp was launched from a series of "Hero of
the Kyrgyz Republic" featuring Absamat Masalievich Masaliev. One of the
main streets of Osh city was named after him. Top
Mazar Bulak (Sandyk). Taldy Bulak village,
Talas region. Talas. No guardian. Type of mazar - spring. The mazar is
located on the very top of the mountain. The front side of the mountain
is snow white. One climbs the mountain along the stream. The stream begins
in the hole in the middle of big rocks. The water in the hole does not lessen
no matter how much water is taken out, nor does it overflow. Its level
is the same in summer and wintertime; in the winter, it does not freeze.
The water does not flow here from anywhere - it appears here on its own.
At the base of the rock with the water, there is a bush of juniper full of
ribbons that are tied to the branches. Sandyk is the name of the mountain,
and refers to it being shaped like a box or chest. The name of the mazar
is Mazar Bulak. However, the mazar is also called by the name of the mountain.
The depth of the spring is close to 0.5 meters. Top
Merzbakher lake (3304 m).
In the Eastern part of Kyrgyzstan, where northern and southern arcs
of Tian-Shan join together, lies the kingdom of Alpine glaciers. Here,
among the highest peaks reaching 6000 meters lounges the enigmatic
ice lake that became famous due to one unique quality. Each year the
lake completely drains and then once again fills up with water from
the nearby icebergs.
The lake was discovered in 1902 by the German geographer and
mountaineer, Gottfried Merzbacher. Icebergs swim in its transparent
water with smooth cliffs surrounding the lake. The lake can be reached
after a challenging twelve kilometer path through one of the biggest
icebergs on earth, the southern Enylchek. The length of the lake reaches
four kilometers, the width, one kilometer, and maximum depth of 60-70
meters. During the flooding of the lake Enylchek, the flow increases to
700 cubic meters per second with an average rate of 30 cubic meters. The
water level rises to six meters. The roar of rushing stream is heard for
5-10 kilometers around. Overflowing lasts for 7-10 days.
When icebergs melt with increasing intensity, the disappearing
of water may occur twice a year, at the end of summer and late autumn.
Typically, the flooding occurs when the water level reaches a certain
level in the lake. The lake gradually fills up with water lifting up icebergs.
The ice at the base of the dam that covers the inside channels also
elevates. Streams of water rushes within picking up ice after it. This
continues until the lake loses its reserves of water and once again
covers the channels with ice. Top