The encyclopedia of the tourist
Sarkent, natural park
| Shah Fazil, mausoleum
| Soltonoev Belek
Suluu-Terek, dry canyons
Surmatash State Reserve
Sadykov Abdykadyr (born in 1933) - literature
critic, doctor of Philology Sciences and a member of Academy of Sciences
of the Kyrgyz SSR. Born in Kara-Suu village, Naryn region in the family
of a farmer. He graduated from high school 1946 and KSU Faculty of Philology
in 1953; from 1956 to 1959, he studied at the graduate school and also
worked as a teacher in KZHPU of Vladimir Mayakovsky. In 1961, he defended
his thesis for the PhD degree of a candidate, and in 1972 - a doctorate
of Philology. In 1979, Sadykov was elected a corresponding member of the
Academy of Sciences of the Kyrgyz SSR.
He began his working career in 1953 as a teacher of the Osh Pedagogical
Institute. Since 1960, Sadykov worked in the IYAL Academy of Sciences
of Kyrgyz SSR as a research assistant, and from 1962 as a senior researcher;
from 1966, he was the head of sector; in 1974 -a deputy director, following
a director's position since 1980 and then, senior researcher in 1988. Sadykov
was involved in literary criticism and literary work since 1956. He was
an author for a number monographs, collections of literary and critical
essays, reviews, and investigations. He has translated a collection of stories
and novels of N. Bogdanov - "Most interesting", stories of T. Likhotal, A.
Tversky and others into Kyrgyz language.
He was a member of the CPSU since 1958 and a member of the Writers'
Union since 1980. He was awarded a medal of "Veteran of Labour", and also
a Diploma of the Supreme Soviet of the Kyrgyz SSR. Top
It is a historical, archaeological and architectural complex of Kyrgyzstan.
This beautiful place is located in the Jalal-Abad region, Alabuka
district at the confluence of Padysha-Ata and Chanach-Sai rivers. In
the Muslim cemetery on the outskirts of the village of Sahfed-Bulan,
between the villages of Ala-Bukin and Kerben, is a brick mausoleum Shah-Fazil,
built approximately in 1050. It is currently used as a mosque and is
a place of pilgrimage. Top
Sahaba-Mazar. Sahaba-Mazar is located
51 kilometers from the city of Osh, it is an ancient sacred cemetery,
which can be characterised by kairak tombstones with epitaphs, written
in Arabic script. Kairak (there are over 100) belong to different epochs.
The inscriptions are mostly without dates and consist of 2-7 lines.
They belong to the XVII-XVIII centuries and considered to be one of the
oldest places in Fergana valley. Sahaba is also a centre for folk festivals
across the Fergana valley, during which the following is conducted -
horse racing, Ulak, Kurosh, Uzbek and Kyrgyz national games, and the
rite - "Zhalancha". Sahaba is one of the sanctuaries of the Fergana Valley.
Tens of hectares are covered by the Stone Gallery,
with tens of thousands of black-and-white rock paintings
in the upper Saimaluu-Tash tract, dated to the 2nd century
B.C. - 8th century A.D.
The Gallery is 30km
to the south of Kazarman. The diversity of the paintings'
subjects is amazing: pictures of animals and people, hunting
scenes, ritual symbols, battles and work. The ruins of ancient
settlements are preserved on the outskirts of Kazarman,
reminding one of the city of 10-12th centuries. Memorials
from the saks and usunis epochs are represented by 3-5m high
barrows, scattered around, with burial chambers inside. Top
Located in the village of Alexandrovka, West of
Bishkek, there are a number of burial mounds scattered
about the farmland. These are the last resting
places for a some of the nobility of the ancient
Sak and Usun tribes that settled in the Chui valley
between the 7th century BC and the 3rd century AD. Top
(2195 m). It is a flat and subtle descent between Kungei and
Terskey, where Kegen and Terskey basins are located in the east.
There is an auto-road that goes through San-Tash from the Issyk-Kul
basin to Almaty.
There is a strong wind that blows through
the San-Tash pass directed at the basin of a lake from the
east. Its name - "San-Tash" is the same as the pass itself from
where it comes from. Through the Boohmsky gorge, the wind blows
from the west. Both winds are caused when the cold air is accumulated
together behind the mountains, which are blocking the lake's basin.
They cause a storm above the Issyk-Kul lake, but their influence normally
spreads only over twenty to thirty kilometers from the shore. Top
This grand mound complex is located in the south-west of the
start of the pass at the foot of Adyr. The centerpiece of the
complex is a large mound with a stone embankment, known as "San-Tash",
on behalf of which were named the pass and the valley. Its dimensions:
56 m in diameter and 4 m high. The summit of the mound is flattened
and has a slope towards the eastern side. There is a funnel in the
center - a trace of predatory manhole. At the foot of the mound is a
circle of stones - 1 meter wide. It took no less than 3500 cubic meters
of stone for its construction.
Originally, the mound had a different shape,
but after the partial destruction of the embankment by the
robbers in antiquity and the removal of stones on the economic
needs of our time, its appearance changed. The mound is similar
to the pazyrsky mounds of Altai.
These burials date from within the VI-III
centuries BC. It was the tomb of the Saks tribal chiefs. General
dating of the burial ground is VI-I centuries BC - Saks-Usun time.
There are other types of mounds grouped around
the grand mound: earthy, stone and earthen, and stone mounds,
outlines of the stones and laid stone of a round shape. There
is no arrangement system that has been observed.
There are 257 burial mounds preserved. At
first, as in other graves, there were more. But since most of
them are located on the site of grassland, the mounds with stone
embankments are gradually destroyed.
There is a hill called San-Tash (Turkic "The
Read Stone"). The legend has it that they were composed by
the army of Timur. When the commander went on his campaign, he ordered
each soldier to take a stone with them, and here, at the pass, they
all laid these stones into a large mound. Upon return, soldiers who survived
took a stone each from the mound and placed it by their side. Therefore,
there are now two mounds made of stone, one of which became a monument
of the victims who died on a foreign land. Top
It is located on the left bank of the river Tyup, to the north-east
of the Kyzyl-Kiya pass. Its design represents a square with sides
of 48x48 m. Protective walls were built of stone based on alabaster
solution, preserving their height from 1.8 to 2.3 m and being
2 meters wide. On the corners of walls and bays are towers. Exit to
the center is marked with the pylons. Inside the settlement, are the
rooms along the defensive walls, those walls are also made of stone,
and in the middle part there is a yard. During the excavations there
were ceramics, including glazed ones, fragments of burnt brick, and
other items found. It was alleged to be a caravanserai on the caravan
route through the pass of San-Tash in Eastern Turkestan, being also a
jailoo about 60 km Northwest of Kochkor. It is
one of the largest high altitude meadows in the
Kochkor region. On the way up to the jailoo are several
large burial mounds dating from the 1st to the
5th centuries - measuring 60 meters in diameter and
13 meters high.
A nearby waterfall is known to locals
by the romantic name «Look for me» because
it is well hidden amongst the rocks. It is possible
to stand within a few meters of it, hear the rushing
water, but not be able to see it. Higher up, past patches
of wild onions, is a permanent glacier.
The legendary hero Manas is supposed
to have visited frequently and relaxed on
the nearby Kara-Too mountain, playing the traditional
game «Ordo» with his followers. According to
the legend, noticing that his horses were wandering
away, he threw huge stones in front of them to persuade
them to return - over a distance of 10 kilometers!.
The stones are still to this day as witness to his incredible
At 3100 m this is the highest point on the 177 km
road between Kazarman and Jalalabad and clearly marks
the distinction between a spectacular road clinging
to the mountain side and fertile mountain valleys. The
pass is closed for most of the year by snow.Top
Sary-Chelek, lake. The lake itself is situated
some 1873 meters above sea level, it stretches for some 7.5 kilometers, varying
in width from 350 m. to 1500 m. and it at its deepest point reaches a depth
of 234 m. There is some dispute about how it was formed — some scholars think
It resulted from the collapse of two ridges of mountains which blocked the
river and held back the waters and others as a result of a shift along a
fault line some 2000 years ago. The waters often appear a greenish shade of
blue — and make attractive photographs.
There are also some other small lakes to the south-east (such as Kyla
Kol, Iyri Kol, Aram Kol, Cherek Kol, and Bakaly Kol), but Sary Chelek is
regarded as the «gem» — the «Jewel in the Crown».
The Lake’s picturesque shores are thought by many of the local population
to be the most beautiful in Kyrgyzstan. The steep slopes, (in places sheer),
are covered with pine, silver fir and archa (myrtle) trees. A dendrological
park (tree garden or Arboretum) has been established in the reserve, and
although this is not highlighted as a visitor attraction, offers the opportunity
to encounter the trees and bushes of the region, with living examples to complement
the dried specimens found in museums.
Generally the climate is damper and milder than in the rest of Kyrgyzstan.
The high mountain ridges protect the reserve from the cold north winds in
winter and the temperature here is much higher than elsewhere in the valleys
(although it can fall to -27.) Snow cover in winter, which lasts for over
100 day each year, is fairly uneven — on the southern slopes, often there
is no settled snow, but elsewhere it can be over a meter deep. In early summer
(May and June) there is a combination of warmth and humidity, which gives
way in late summer to warm, dry, windless days.
Some fishing is permitted in the rivers feeding the lake, but not on the
lake itself. Swimming was prohibited after some fatal casualties in 1983.
Hunting is absolutely prohibited within the reserve, although illegal hunting
is a problem.
There is a museum is situated in a building next to the Zapovednik administration
office which contains a topographical model of the Zapovednik, stuffed animals,
insects and birds, and examples of different kind of trees and their timber.
is located in the valley of the same-named river and its right tributary
of Ak-Shiyrak. Due to the harsh climatic conditions it is recommended
for the most experienced tourists. The valley extends from the north-east
foot of Khan-Tengri to the west of Enilchek city at an altitude of 2700 m
- 3600 m, surrounded by a 5-thousandths peaks (Semenov – 5816 m and Karakol
- 5280 m). One of the largest mountain rivers of this region runs through
here, fed by melt water of snow and glaciers of the highest mountain massif,
Muzdug. The water has an amazing greenish-white colour. The length of the
river in Kyrgyzstan is 198 km. Emerald alpine meadows, individual groves
of spruce of Sherenka, juniper and birch forests, and below that, the steppe
zone, are all freely spread over the slopes from a height of 3000m. For miles
river Sary-Jaz flows into the canyon-like valley with steep sides. From the
valley of the river Sary-Jaz, scenic views open onto the jagged ridges, sharp
peaks, and the cirques surrounding the ridges. Mountains are ringed with
thick snow stripe, under which glittering glacier tongues rise out through
the entire horizon. Sary-Jaz river cuts through the powerful mountain ridge
of Kakshaal-Too and departs to China. The vegetation of the Sary Jaz valley
is well adapted to the harsh conditions. At an altitude of 3000 m, the border
of the alpine steppe belt ends in the Sary-Jaz valley, where mostly fescue,
sagebrush and feather grass grow. Above 3500m, grains disappear altogether
in the Sary-Jaz valley. They are dislodged by the high desert plants that
are presented mainly by cushion-forming suffrutescent xerophytes and wandering
lichens. Even higher is the rocky tundra. This type of landscape is circulated
only in small patches on the highest ridges of the Tien-Shan in elevations
of 3900-4300m above sea level. Such plants, in Sary-Jaz valley, find it easier
to resist adverse conditions - cold, wind, drought, and fatal ultraviolet
rays. It is worth visiting an amazingly beautiful Sary-Jaz canyon, which
is located near the confluence of Sary-Jaz river and its right tributary,
Ak-Shiyrak. Seven kilometres to the east of Echkili-Tash village, at an altitude
of 3150m, in a limestone cliff on the right bank of Sary-Jaz, is Ak-Chunkur
cave ("white hole"), which is about 70m and 4m wide, and the entrance to
this cave rises over the water at 130 metres. There were some traces found
of a prehistoric man with early wall drawings made with ocher. Not far
from the cave lies a small lake. In the upper reaches of Sary-Jaz river,
around a variegated marble rock of Kara-Al-Tash, are hot springs with a
temperature of about 60 degrees. Near Enilchek village some petroglyphs
can be seen (I-II thousand years BC). The realm of the mountain gorges
and peaks, decorated with hanging tongues of snowfields, is inhabited
by ibexes, mountain sheep and argali. Sary-Jaz valley is connected to the
town of Karakol and the highway of 140 km. Sary-Jaz gumbez. They are located
in remote tracts of Sary-Jaz ridge. They are dated from the late XIX and
the middle of XX century. Sary-Jaz is characterized by gumbez with wood
and without domes, similar gumbez to Altai. It presents a small log frame
on a stone foundation, corners with four pillars decorated with figural carvings.
The walls made of adobe blocks, the upper edge can be decorated with figural
bricks in a triangular lattice. In the centre, there is a common grave
mound. To visit Sary-Jaz valley, a pass must be acquired in the border
Petr Petrovich. He was born (2) 14 January, 1827 in Urusov
village, near Ryazan; the son of Captain, a retired member of the Borodino
battle. Semenov was a prominent Russian geographer, botanist, entomologist,
an honorary member of the Russian Geographical Society and several other
scientific societies of Europe, an honorary member of the St. Petersburg Academy
of Sciences. He made an enormous contribution to the study of Central and
Middle Asia, especially of Kyrgyzstan. In 1848, Semenov graduated University
and decided to engage in science. In 1853, he began to lecture geography and
geology at the University of Berlin. There, he acquired an idea to research
the Tien-Shan, suggested by Alexander von Humboldt. Between 1856-1857, he
travelled to the Tien-Shan, beginning his expedition research. Semenov has
collected a wealth of material, including unknown, to science, species, gave
the name to Zailyisky Alatau (also known as Trans-Ili Alatau). He was first
to calculate the absolute benchmark of Lake Issyk-Kul; he suggested its
formation and composition of coastal sediments, morphology, history and
archaeological sites of Issyk-Kul. In 1906, when the scientific study of
this mountain range began, "Tien-Shan" was also added to the name of Semenov.
From 1873 to 1914, Semenov was the head of the Russian Geographical Society.
He was involved in scientific expeditions of Prjevalski, Potanin, Kozlov,
Roborovski, Valihanov, Mushketov and Obruchev. From the pen of the Semenov-Tian-Shan
came out capital works on geography; he assembled a unique collection of
insects (about 700 thousand examples), as well as a rich collection of paintings
by Dutch artists, which was later transferred to the Hermitage (this is
more than a hundred paintings and several thousand prints). This scientist
died on 11 March, 1914 in St. Petersburg. A number of geographical features
in the Middle East and Central Asia, the Caucasus, Alaska and Svalbard, and
about 100 new forms of plants and animals have been named in his honour. A
gold medal was established in the name of Semenov - Tian-Shan. In Balykchy
city, a monument with the following inscription in Russian and Kyrgyz languages
has been put up, - "To the great Russian traveller, P. P. Semyonov - Tian-Shan,
from the Kyrgyz people, 1982". A sculptural group consists of the figure of
the scientist-traveller, holding a horse on the leash under the Kyrgyz saddle.
waterfall. Located in the valley of the river Bash-Kaindy
(inflow of At-Bashi, Naryn region). It can be seen from
far away, as far as the entrance of the valley. (There is a remarkable
hill, which offers a beautiful view of the river and the ridge
of At-Bashi.) The waterfall is not well known. It takes half
a day walk along the trail to the waterfall. The waterfall is approximately
300-400 meters, consists of several cascades and is fully visible
only from afar. Top
Shabdan Dzhantaev (1839-1912) - the largest
sary-bagysh manap, one of the descendants of the famous Attacke-batyr.
He was born in Tuyuk-Bulun area on the northern shore of Issyk-Kul lake.
He was famous for a successful foray into Barymta. In his youth, he was
a representative of the Kyrgyz at the reception of Mallya Khan in Kokand.
He served two years in Tashkent at the Khan Kanate. Shabdan received Russian
citizenship and began to truly serve the new authorities. In 1868, with
200 dzhigits he helped Bishkek district chief Zagryazhsky approve a new
administration in the central Tien-Shan. Since 1876, with his party he was
part of the Skobelev's troops , where he took part in the conquest of the
Khanate of Kokand, in operations against insurgents of Pulat Khan, for which
he was awarded the George Cross. In Alai Skobelev campaign in 1876, Shabdan
with 40 dzhigits, was distinguished among a number of operations, he participated
in the defeat of the last rebel units led by Jetim Khan. Shabdan faithfully
served the Russian government until his death. He received a rank of an
army officer, conforming a lieutenant colonel status. In 1883,he was part
of the Turkestan delegation at the coronation of Alexander III. Top
Shah Fazil, mausoleum.
Is one of the most significant monuments of architecture of
16-17 centuries.. The mausoleum is located in the Ala-Buka area,
in the ancient village of Safed-Bulan, and this name combines two
great cultures - Arab and Turk.
These locations were strategically important
in terms of trips to Bukhara and Samarkand.
Later, according to legend, the terrible
events took place. During the execution of the prayer innocent
people were attacked and as a result 2700 Arab soldiers were
beheaded. Local girl by the name Bulan, washed severed heads, to
find the head of her lover among them, and buried them here. The mausoleum
was built to commemorate this event. There is huge stone near the ditch,
at the entrance to the mausoleum. According to legend, it was the place
where Bulan washed cut off heads of soldiers. There is a place Kyrgyn-Machet
where 2700 of Arabs were beheaded, and where is the low shrine of
Only women can enter Mazar and read Quran
and ask for blessings from the saint. There is a stone of
fertility, where women, can ask for the welfare of the family,
and childless - the children, touching the stone by the hand.
Scientists have found that the ruler of
Ferghana Mahmud ibn Nasir, known by the nickname Shah Fazil,
which means a fair check, was buried in the mausoleum. This
museum was built in the memory of a beloved Shah. Mausoleum of
Shah Fazil is a dome-centric structure, oriented to the sides of
the world by angles. The total height of the monument from the ancient
floor level to the top of the dome is 15.5 m, the outer perimeter
of the base is 11.7 m
Different carved stucco ganch retained
traces of the once abandoned dark-blue, blue, yellow and red
colors of paint.
In the late 19th - early 20th centuries
as well as in the distant Middle Ages, religious festivals
were held with the sacrifices of animals. The pilgrims streamed
here from the entire neighborhood. Top
Shamshy, gorge. It is
located 85 km from Bishkek city and south of Tokmok. It has narrow and steep
slopes (35-45º). A river flows through Shamshy gorge. There are some thick
trees, such as firs and other evergreen trees in this gorge. Tien-Shan fir
and pine trees present a natural forest. This area is a place of residence
for wild boars, deer, stoats, hares, lynxes and stone martens. Tall plants
of sub-alpine meadows grow mainly in the northern and western slopes, where
there is more moisture. At 12 km deep into the gorge, two rivers, Shamshy
and Tuyuk, flow into. In the upper valley is Shamshy pass (3570 m), which
binds Kochkor and Chui valleys. The gorge is used as a pasture. Tuyuk-Keltor
lake (2725 m, 0.2 sq. km.) serves as a landmark, which is located in the
upper part of the Tuyuk river, where waterfalls cascade over the river of
Chon- Keltor, the right tributary of the river Shamshy. In 1958, near Shamshy
gorge, two kilometres from Bishkek-Balykchy highway, there was a hoard of
gold jewellery found in the field during field work. Archeologists have determined
that it was a burial mound, where a woman was buried. She had a mask on her
face made of pure gold. The gold face plate simulated a tattoo - tree of
life. All treasures found there are currently in the Historical Museum in
Sharkyratma, a small river
where the waterfalls cascade. It is located in the Ala-Archa gorge,
halfway along the path leading to Ak-Sai. The cascade of small waterfalls
begins at 100 meters above the crossing of the river and the path. Further,
after 400 meters on the quiet side of the gorge and the confluence of
two rivers forming small Sharkyratma rivers, there are also small cascades
Sheker village. Talas region
near the Uzbek border. It is famous for being a place of Chinghiz
Torekulovich Aitmatov's birth in 1928. He was a Kyrgyz writer, who
wrote in Russian and Kyrgyz. Top
Shish-Debe, hillfort. It is located in the
northern town of Kara-Balta. Its total area is about 6000 ha. It was the
largest city, Nuzket, (VI-XII centuries) in the left bank of the Chu river.
The city stood on the Great Silk Road and was destroyed to its foundation
by the Mongol invaders in the XII century, after which the residents had
left it. Only after six centuries, with the formation of the Khanate of Kokand,
in Khan Madal's power, on the place of Nuzket, Shish-Debe military fortress
was built to control the western part of Chui valley. The fortress was destroyed
by addition of these lands to the Russian Empire in 1863. On-site of the
hillfort, buildings, residential and business premises were uncovered. Some
pottery, items made of glass, metal, bone and stone were found. On the territory
of Shish-Debe hillfort, two major hoards of coins were revealed (about 5000
copper and silver) in XI-XII centuries. Top
Shopokov. A small town
on the road between Bishkek and Tashkent - named
after a hero of the Soviet Union who fell as one of
the 28 Panfilov heroes, killed defending a small village
outside Moscow against invading German tanks in
inside the border with both Uzbekistan and Jalal-Abad
oblast lies the site of an ancient settlement which
dates from the 4th century BC through until the 5th
century AD. Top
on the Naryn - Osh road, is the site of an
ancient fortress dating from the tenth century. The
fortress was built at the cross-road of caravan routes
and measures 120 x 117 m. The walls are 6 m high. In
the corners of the fortress there are towers. The walls
and the towers are made of pahsa and adobe and have
Skazka - «fairy
tale», valley. Demolished sandy rocks are located
near the village of Tosor. They have a form of various posts,
changing their color from red to orange. Here you will find yourself
in a magical city. Double fortification, stretching for
several kilometers along the ridge of hills protects the peace
of the sleeping castles and wonderful animals from red clay and
sandstone - elephants, hippos, snakes, and some other wondrous
animals. Photos. Top
The Sokuluk gorge is located to the south-west of Bishkek
(72 km). In the Sokuluk Valley to the West of Bishkek
lies the village of Tash-Bulak («Stone Spring»).
It sits astride the Sokoluk river which flows through alpine
meadows and woodland with many varieties of wildlife.
The village is still known to many locals by it's Soviet
name Belogorka, and it was the site of a very successful collective
farm. Nowadays the village is not as prosperous but is still
quite attractive with decorated houses. It can serve as the
starting point for several walks. In this wonderfully beautiful
place there is one of the highest waterfalls in the whole North
Kyrgyz range. The height of it is 60 meters and it produces a
water cloud which hangs around it. On the way there (which is easy
and takes around 1 hour) you can see bushes of wild current and bushes
of other wild berries and flowers.
Nearby is the Pigeon»s waterfall - not to be confused
by it's more famous namesake in the Alamedin valley
- which plummets over the steep cliffs. There is a trail
over the mountains to the Kochkor - Suusamyr road which
used to be used to drive sheep over the mountains, but it hasn»t
been used in recent years and is generally impassable now.
There is a route between the Sokuluk
gorge and Ala-Archa over the Ozernyi pass (3900
m). Photos. Top
Soltonoev Belek, was born in 1878
in the village of Tegermenty in Kemin district. He is a known Kyrgyz
historian, who tried to determine the origin of Manas and gave two
versions of the Talas Kyrgyz people. Belek Soltonoev was executed in
hillfort. It is located 10 km from the town of Uzgen, on the
river city of Yassy. Shoro-Bashat was built in 5-4 century BC.
This hillfort was one of the most important centers of ancient
Ferghana. This city, covering an area of 70 hectares (1400x500
m), was one of the major Pargansky cities. The system of fortification
for Shoro-Bashat hillfort included other fortresses and small hillforts:
North-Uzgen, Denbulak and Kyzyl-October. Remains of some housing
estates, related to the end of the 2nd millennium BC were found
within this territory. Shoro-Bashat is a military and religious
center and consisted of four independent parts: a military camp, the
religious complex, a refuge and stronghold. Top
Sulaiman Mountain (Throne of Solomon). It is located
in the city of Osh. The height of the mountain at the highest
point is 100-150 m, length is 1.5 km and the width is 120 m
According to the legends and folk legends
the Suleiman mountain is considered to be sacred since time
immemorial. Its slopes and foothills abound with historical
monuments of the past - from the Neolithic to the Late Middle
The name Takhti Sulaiman (Throne of
Solomon) was received after Muslim Prophet - Sheik Suleiman
was burried at the foot of the mountain.
In the X century pilgrims from all over
Asia come to the mountain, because from time immemorial,
it is believed that it was here that the Prophet Sulaiman turned
to God, and the prints of his forehead and knees remained on the
stones. Muhammad Zakhiriddin Babur (1483-1530 years.), the grandson
of Tamerlane and the founder of the Mughal dynasty, built a small
hudjra (cell) with a mihrab above this sacred for every Muslim place,
the site where today the white stone mosque is located as well as
the " Babur's house ", recreated according to archival sources. According
to the legend it was on this mountain, where a woman can ask God to
bestow her child, and the top is the legendary "test track", which can’t
be passed by an unfaithful wife, as the legend says.
The Suleiman Mountain keeps valuable
information in their caves and grottoes, on the slopes and
cliffs. Hundreds of petroglyphs carved on the rocky outcrops
of the mountain, the stone tiles, on the walls of caves and grottoes.
The oldest petroglyphs are made thousands years ago.
There are entire inscriptions on the
rock carvings. The most famous of them is on the south side
of the first peak of the Mount Suleiman. It is made with Kufic script
and has the name of the Samanid Amir Nasr ibn Ahmad and dated back
to 329 year of the Hijrah (940-941 years).
In 1956, excavations were carried out
in a cave Rush Unkur - Cave Eagles (now one of the halls
of the cave complex at Osh combined historical and cultural
museum reserve). As a result of the excavations a collection
of stone tools of the Late Neolithic was discovered. This collection
is stored in the Osh Museum.
In 1967, the elevating pottery, identical
to the painting and method of making ceramics of Chust culture,
was found on the southern slope of the Suleiman mountain. It was
assumed that there was the first permanent settlement there.
Suluu-Terek, Dry Canyons
(Konorchok Canyons) - 125 km from Bishkek these
canyons stretch for nearly 200 km.
After 50 minutes of slow walk the valley of red
castles, columns and sculptures is opening to your
gaze. These canyons are the masterpieces of nature’s
It‘s wonderful at any season, but it is the most
interesting and attractive at the period from
May till October, when everything is growing and blooming.
It’s a valley of contrasts. It’s a temple. It’s great
To see Sulu-Terek Canyons completely would take
a long time - but it is possible to spend a few
days exploring the spectacular scenery. The canyons
have romantic names like "Grand Canyon", "Bobsleigh" and
"Skyscraper". They were formed about one and a half to two
million years ago and since that time erosion by wind and
water has turned a plain plateau into gigantic stone pillars,
some of which are 400-500 meters high. The canyons see almost
no precipitation at any season of the year - between
1980 and 1990 the canyons received no snowfall at all, and in
the last decade of the twentieth century snow has fallen twice.
If the air temperature in Bishkek is 20 degrees below zero,
in the Sulu-Terek Canyons it is +5 degrees - however, in recent
times the climate in the Canyons is becoming a little colder.
One peculiarity of the Sulu-Terek Canyons is that plants
growing there tend to be very large - much larger than usual.
One of the main attractions at Sulu-Terek is an extinct volcano,
dating back to 2.5-3 million years ago with slopes covered
with fossilized sea shells the size of the child's fist and the
remnants of lava.
The unique beauty of the Sulu-Terek canyon lies
in its overwhelming rocks, dry and transparent air,
long shadows fall- ing from the nature-carved sculptures
lit by the setting sun of the Tien-Shan.
Dry, free from any vegetation, the canyons display
a red colour due to the oxidation of mineral particles;
they look like an accumulation of half -ruined castles,
ancient temples, modern skyscrapers, columns and spires,
The queer shapes of these constructions led people to give
them strange names.
The Konorchok canyons are the product of an erosion
process lasting for several millennia. The
movement of the earth crust produced cracks and fissures.
Rainwater, filling the cracks during frequent summer
thunderstorms, loosened castles of Konorchok the
sandstone stratum beneath the surface soil and decorated
the landscape by carving fantastic columns. The slopes
of the sur-rounding highlands eventually turned into a labyrinth
of sharp pointed ridges, low table mountains, domes,
pyramids and pil-lars. Thus step-by-step, time, water and
wind created the fairy-tale land of Konorchok. Looked at
from a distance the landscape resembles the ruins of ancient
towns spread out on a vast stretch of earth.
The Castle Rock is an impressively large massif
with a flat top rising up to 300 metres, crowned
with crenellated turrets. Picturesque tracks, twisting
among the walls of the canyons, form massive blocks of rocks
that gleam under the rays of the sun with all the hues of
crimson, copper and orange. At sunrise the towers and domes
of Konorchok become tinged by red and purple banners that
flutter and play in the rays of the sunset, finally absorbing
the golden hues of the expiring day. Top
Surot-Tash, petroglyphs. The
tract of Airymach-Too is 8 km north-west of Osh. On the rocks of Surot-Tash
mountain, about 30 images of major figures of thin-legged and beautiful
horses standing alone are painted. Upon suggestion of the famous Russian
scientist Yuri Zadneprovsky, at the foot of this peak, was the cult centre
of an ancient state of Davan, which existed from the III century BC. There
are legendary horses presented on the rocks, described in the ancient Chinese
chronicles as horses with tremendous speed. They were called blood-flowing
horses because instead of sweat they secreted droplets of blood on the surface
of their skin. Despite the inaccessibility to petroglyphs, vandals still
managed to spoil them. Top
Suusamyr, valley. The Suusamyr
valley is a high steppe plateau - 2200 meters a. s.
l. - that although only some 160 kilometers from Bishkek
is also one of the more remote and rarely visited regions
There are signs of early settlement dating back to
between the 9th and 11th centuries.
The population, of about 6000, is mainly Kyrgyz and
they are nearly all involved in agriculture. In
Soviet times this was one of the major sheep breeding areas
in the country. Up to four million sheep would be driven
over the mountain passes in Spring to graze on the luscious
grasses of the steppe.
Since 1991, the flocks of sheep grazing here have
dwindled substantially and the people have diversified
into other forms of agriculture - growing potatoes,
garlic, cabbages and fodder crops. Today, most foreign
visitors simply pass through as they travel the main
Bishkek - Osh road.
Leaving Bishkek, you travel to Kara-Balta and then
turn South towards the mountains. The road climbs
through the spectacular Too-Ashu gorge - the original
road climbed right to the top of the pass, but nowadays there
is tunnel burrowed under it. You emerge from the tunnel and
the plain lies below you. It is worth stopping and climbing
a little to get a spectacular panorama of the plain.
Descending the road comes to a junction and a sign
points to the village of Suusamyr, some 15 km west
of the road, and the right fork takes you on towards Osh
in the South, the Toktogul reservoir, lake Sary-Chelek,
or the road over the Otmek pass to Talas.
Suusamyr village lies at the Eastern edge of the plain
and has a yurt camp in summer, it is possible to
find home stays, and there is a dacha some kilometers
from the village which takes in guests.
From the village, there are two roads to Kochkor.
The Northern route follows the valley of the Karakol
river - at the foot of the Kyrgyz Range and is practically
deserted - there are virtually no settlements here.
The Southern road takes you through the villages of Kojomkul
and Kyzyl-Oi before you reach the turning to Min-Kush
or continue onto Chaek and Kochkor. The roads are not good.
Karakol is a small village on the banks of the river
of the same name where it emerges at the extreme
Eastern edge of the plain.
Kojomkul is named after a giant of a man, (he was
2.3 meters tall), and who died in 1955. The village
has a small museum where you can see photographs of
him, some of his clothes and you can see huge stones which he
is reputed to have lifted onto his shoulders. A little out of
town you can another weighing almost 700kg which he is supposed
to have lifted and placed on the grave of a local official.
The road to Kyzyl-Oi (Red Bowl) passes through a narrow
valley of the Kekemeren with the mountains rising steeply
on each side. Photos.
Syrty - a cold semi-desert plain, formed on the
heights of Tien-Shan from 3000 to 3600 meters, objects of which are characteristic
to flat hills, small lakes and swamps, deposits of stones of different sizes.
These are magnificent pastures. It tends to snow mainly in the summer here,
but it quickly melts under the rays of the hot sun, and in winter it is almost
without snow. Clouds are much lower, and the zone of perpetual snow is higher.
Overall syrty, by thermal regime, is close to the Arctic climate. Top