Historical Museum. It is located on Ala-Too square.
Historical Museum is one of the largest museums not only in Kyrgyzstan, but also in Central Asia.
It was founded on 9 December, 1925. It received its first visitors on 5 March, 1927. The exhibition was prepared by the beginning of the first constituent congress of Soviets of Kyrgyzstan and housed in one of the rooms of the house of M. V. Frunze's parents. The creation of the museum marked the beginning of a systematic study of the history and nature of the mountainous region, general promotion of local history.
During its history, the museum changed its name several times:
1925-1933 - Central Museum of Kyrgyzstan;
1933-1943 - The State Museum of Local History;
1943-1954 - National Museum of Culture;
In 1954, it was renamed to the State Historical Museum.
Currently, the museum has 90 million objects of museum value, including 44 thousand of monuments of the main fund. A total of 11 departments of the museum, including 7 departments associated with exposure, registration and storage of the museum objects. The pride of the Historical Museum are its archaeological and ethnographic collections.
Among these magnificent things are products of felt, wool, seeds of chia, leather and wood. There is a collection of traditional Kyrgyz embroidery, weaving and without nap, national costumes, original women's jewellery, highly artistic horse equipment. Of great interest are the materials on the history of the Soviet period and the present: a collection of documents, photographs, material sources, samples of industrial enterprises, a collection of paintings, drawings, sculptures, gifts of the Kyrgyz Republic from foreign countries. The museum materials include items of outstanding people of the Republic, their personal belongings, documents, awards; there are collections of weapons, numismatics and bonistics. Total area comprises of 8435.9 m2. Top
Museum of Fine Arts of Gapar Aitiev. It is located at 196 Abdrakhmanov
The museum is a treasure trove of art in Kyrgyzstan. It was opened by the decision of the regional committee of the CPSU (b) of Kyrgyzstan on 1 January 1935 as an art gallery, and later, in 1944, converted to a Kyrgyz State Museum of Fine Arts. It was dedicated to the Kyrgyz folk and applied art, as well as Russian art and works of the Soviet era, the museum began its activities as the National Art Gallery and was originally located in the building of the church of St. Nicholas in Oak Park. Now there is a gallery of the Union of Artists.
The basis of the first museum consisted of 72 works of Russian artists, selected from the museum collections of the Tretyakov gallery and 40 paintings of Kyrgyz artists. The current museum building was constructed in 1974 as part of a large-scale campaign to improve the image of the city.
The volume of the collection is about 18,000 exhibits. There are about 4,000 paintings, around 9,600 specimens of graphics, about 1,000 sculptures and more than 3 million copies of the decorative art. There are works of the Soviet period, Egyptian and Greek art reproductions, classic western sculptures, and works on the epic "Manas".
The gold fund of the museum is the classics, which include S. Chuikov, G. Aitiev, S. Akylbekov, A. Ignatiev, L. Iylynoi, A. Mikhalev, L. Mesarosha, O. Manuilova, T. Sadykov, D. Umetov, T. Herzen, B. Dzhumabaev, A. Asrankulov, S. Aitiev.
In 2010, the museum has been subjected to looting. Top
the National Academy of Arts named after Turgunbai Sadykov. It is
a scientific and methodological museum at the National Academy of Arts
of the Kyrgyz Republic of academician T. Sadykov. It is located at 50
On the first and second floors, there are sculptures of Sadykov's work and in the halls there are exhibitions (painting, ceramics, etc.). Top
Museum of Literature and Art of Toktogul Satylganov. It is located
at 109 Toktogul street.
The museum was formed by 5 October 1989 to the 125 anniversary of Toktogul Satylganov. It has three halls - Turkic writing, oral expression and life and work of the democrat-bard Toktogul Satylganov.
The museum has about 5,000 pieces (manuscripts and books). The museum has 10 branches in Kyrgyzstan. Top
Museum of Biology and Soil Institute of the National Academy of Sciences.
It is located at 265 Chui Prospect.
In the late 20-ies of XX century a Central Museum of Local History appeared in the capital. In 1943, the museum was divided into Historical and Museum of Nature. In 1946, the Museum of Nature was converted to the Zoological Museum and handed over to the Kyrgyz branch of the Academy of Sciences.
The museum is located in the eastern part of the main building of the National Academy of Sciences. The exhibition features approximately one and a half million units of exhibits that occupy four halls.
The collection provides a visual representation of an extremely diverse fauna of the country. You can get acquainted with all the representatives of the animal world of Kyrgyzstan, and see the rich collection of birds, eggs, butterflies and more. Top
Museum of the National Academy of Sciences (specialised). It was established
in the National Academy of Sciences on 9 November, 2011. The museum features
hundreds of historical findings, whose age is estimated to be 100,000
years old. The exhibits have been collected by scientific researchers
of the Academy throughout the country. Much of the historical material
is presented in the original form. Top
Museum of the Institute of Mining and mining technologies.
It was established in 1954 as a training base for students, geologists and hydro-geologists.
The geological museum greatly expanded the exhibits of samples from birth places in Kyrgyzstan. In addition to general displays with mineral species of Kyrgyz subsoil, there is a large collection of gold specimens. There are individual exhibits of coal deposits, antimony and mercury geological type. During the existence of the geological museum, it was replenished with unique exhibits mainly through the efforts of enthusiasts - members of the department and graduates of the institute.
In the museum, there is a druse of gypsum 60 x 40 cm in size with crystals of 40 x 7 cm brought from Tereksai. There is a cut (billet) of petrified wood from Tash-Kumyr (up until 30s,there was only one place birth place in the world of fossilised trees in the American state of Arizona). In 1999, the museum received a gift - a pelvic bone of mammoth brought from Yakutia.
In the summer of 2000, a special expedition of Moscow scientists was organised to travel to Kyrgyzstan to search for the remains of dinosaurs in Tash-Kumyr. Several large pieces of limbs and small - the jaws and teeth - were donated to the museum. The type of dinosaur species was not determined.
Rarities include half of ancient volcanic bombs filled with internal cracks (healed) with calcite and quartz, as a result the sample looks like "sun", and it attracts the attention of all visitors. There is a collection of stalactite formations of different types of karst cavities of Khaidarkan, Kadamjai and caves in the Osh region presented there. An object of interest is a boulder of orbicular granite found in the river bed of Sarydzhaz - a product of the unusual granite crystallisation. There is a colourful selection of polishes of jasper of various colours and types. The museum is adorned with collections of calcite, quartz, gemstone jewellery and rare minerals. Top
Museum of Sculpture in the open. The Oak Park. The museum was created
in 1984 in honour of the 60th anniversary of the founding of the Kyrgyz
SSR. The Oak Park has become a kind of museum of sculptures in the open
air. There are 93 sculptures made of stone and metal,in groups or individually,
found in the park. All of them were created by Kyrgyz sculptors and donated
to the city. Top
memorial house-museum of M. V. Frunze. It is located at 364 Frunze
It was opened in 1925. Mikhail Frunze was born on 2 February, 1885 in Pishpek. He was a well-known Russian revolutionary and Soviet statesman and a military leader. During the Civil War, Mikhail Frunze was one of the greatest military commanders of the Red Army.
In the museum, there are over eight thousand exhibits. The exhibits presented in the museum are the hero's personal belongings, documents, photographs, paintings, manuscripts, books and much more, as well as furniture, dishes, and his library given by family and friends of Frunze.
All the décor recreates the everyday life of Russians in Kyrgyzstan XIX - early XX centuries. Living rooms have kept an authentic atmosphere of that time. The house still remained the same as it was built almost a hundred years ago by a military paramedic Vasily Frunze. At the entrance there is a plaque: "Here M. V. Frunze was born and lived up to 7 years of age (1885-1892)".
In 1967, over adobe hut under a thatched roof - home of Frunze, a monumental building of glass and concrete was erected (architects include G. Kutateladze and Yu, Karikh). On rectangular panels of the outer surfaces are dull bas-reliefs with a theme of civil war and of the Frunze (artists include A. Voronin and A. Kamensky).
The exhibition hall of the second floor demonstrates movable thematic exhibitions for significant dates, new additions to the museum. On the third floor are the film lecture hall and exhibition hall of 570 square meters.
Exhibition area of the museum is over 2000 m². Few people know that behind the glass memorial house-museum of Mikhail Frunze is actually a summer backyard outbuilding and not the house that was built in 1879 and owned by Vasily Frunze.
The actual house was demolished during the construction of the museum complex. This was probably done in order to show that a simple paramedic could not have lived in a decent house under the tsars ruling. At that time the street was called Vasilievskaya (now Razzakov). Top
house-museum named after Aaly Tokombaev. It is located at 109 Chuikov
The museum has three exhibition halls and 3 memorial halls. The exhibition is devoted to the life of the poet, writer and public figure of Kyrgyzstan - Aaly Tokombaev. The museum hosts literary meetings with writers and poets. There are also performances staged on the works of A. Tokombaev. Top
house-museum of Semen Chuikov. It is located at 87-a Chuikov street (between
Tynystanov and Abdrakhmanov streets).
It was created in 1987. Exhibition presents works by Semen Chuikov, an honoured artist of Russia, his personal belongings, documents, and also work of his wife who was also an artist - Eugenia Maleina. Top
house-museum of Ishaq Razzakov. It is located at 90 Chuikov street.
It was opened on 25 December, 2005. The exhibition is dedicated to Ishaq Razzakov, a prominent public figure. There are more than 300 photos, over a hundred documents - certificates, notices, honoured documents. A lot of personal things - books, clothes, furniture and interior items. It is possible to get familiar with the awards of this politician, including his four Orders of Lenin, two Orders of the Red Banner and the Order of the Patriotic War of I degree. These exhibits were brought from the Memorial house- museum of Razzakov in Isfana town (Batken region). Top
house - museum of Olga Manuilova. It is located at 108 Tynystanov street.
It is a permanent exhibition on the life and work of Olga Manuilova. There are approximately 50 sculptures (busts, bas-reliefs made of wood, metal, plaster and marble), family photographs, books from her personal library, and documents. Top