Parks and Gardens of Bishkek
named after the 125th anniversary of Bishkek city. It is located
opposite Asanbai district. Its area consists of 4 hectares.
Between 2009 - 2010, a reconstruction of the park took
place. New benches and urns were installed, alleys were broken and
lined with new setts. New irrigation system and drainage were laid,
a colonnade and pop marketplace were built. A fountain was installed
in the centre so as new rides. The park has been leased to the SLR
"Child Care". Top
Park named after Chingiz Aitmatov (Oak
Park). It was founded in the 1890-1898 for the students of agricultural
school under management of botanic, Alexei Fetisov, on an area of
Later, the territory of the former church garden was annexed
to the park. In 1919, Red Guards have been buried in the park, who
died during the suppression of the Belovodsky rebellion. Above the tomb
is a monument dedicated to the Red Guards. In November 1957, the monument
was reconstructed. Now it is an 11-metre obelisk of polished red granite,
complete with a hammer and sickle in a frame of bronze wreath. In 1933,
a commander of the first Pishkek Soviet regiment of Y. N. Logvynenko
was buried here. In 1970, on the west side of the monument, an eternal
flame was opened in memory of those killed in the Great Patriotic War.
In 1935, at the former St. Nicholas Church (the church built
in 1884 with donations of Russian merchant Ivanov), a Museum of Fine
Arts was opened. Since 1974 - it has been an Exhibition Hall of the Union
of Artists of Kyrgyzstan.
In the place of the current Russian drama theatre was "Edison"
theatre (built in 1914 with 400 seats, after the revolution, and renamed
to "Progress"). In the south-western part of the park was cinema
called "Drummer" (the building was demolished in the 60's).
In September 1984, a museum of garden sculpture in the open
air was opened in the park (it became a National Museum of Sculpture
since 1989). The exhibition basis of the museum consisted of works
by members of All-Union symposium of sculptors, held in the city of
In 1996, an Alley of Statesmen of Kyrgyzstan of XX century
was founded with busts of S. Ibraimov, T. Kulatov, B. Mambetov, I.Razzakov,
In 2001, a monument was dedicated to Mukhtar Auezov (1897-1961),
who was a Kazakh poet and scholar.
In 2004, a monument was dedicated to Kurmanjan Datka. Earlier
in this place, there were monuments dedicated to Lenin (1948-1984),
Dzerzhinsky (1987-1999) and Erkindik (1999-2004).
On 10 December, 2008 the Oak Park got renamed after Chingiz
In 2012, a bust-monument was installed in the name of Maxim
Ammosov (1897-1938) - the First Secretary of the Central Committee
of the Communist Party (Bolsheviks) of Kyrgyzstan.
During the history of the Oak Park, it has decreased almost
by half its size. Top
Victory Park named after D. Asanov
(1922-2009, Hero of the Soviet Union). The park is located on the southern
gates of Bishkek.
On 1 July 2011, the park opened an "Alley of rescuers" dedicated
to the 20th anniversary since the formation of the Ministry of Emergency
On 8 May 2012, a monument to the blockade of Leningrad was
installed there. Top
Park named after Kemal Ataturk (1881-1938
- Ottoman and Turkish reformer, the first president of Turkey). It is located
on Ahunbaeva street. It was founded in 1957-1958 as a Botanical Garden of
the arboretum. In 1962, the arboretum was transferred to the City Council
and in 1967 renamed to the Park of Culture and Rest called "Friendship". Since
1972 - the park had become known as the 50th Anniversary of the USSR. Since
1996, the park was named after Kemal Ataturk. The park covers an area of
74 hectares. A portion of the park has two circular centres. Moving away
from the circular alleys are diagonal avenues that divide the area into the
right triangles. There are about 40 species of trees (including 5 conifers)
and 35 species of shrubs in the park. Conifers consist of 35%, and
deciduous - 65%. Among them: birch, linden, Biota orientalis, Scotch
pine, Bolle poplar and other.
In 1996, a memorial was installed in the park dedicated to
soldiers of Afghanistan. A Fountain Alley was opened, which includes
58 fountains and a circular fountain with a diameter of 10 metres. There
are also a variety of attractions there. Top
Botanical Garden of the National Academy
of Sciences of the Kyrgyz Republic, also known as the Botanical
Garden of E. Z. Gareev (located at 1a, Ahunbaev street).
It was created in March 1938 (architects include I. Vyhodtsev,
E. Nikitin). In 1964, the Botanical Garden was awarded a status of
SRI (Scientific Research Institute - an independent agency specifically
created to organise the scientific research and experimental development).
There are 4 active laboratories: trees and shrubs, flower-ornamental
plants, biology of fruit plants, physiology of plant resistance. There
was collected more than 2.5 million species and forms of trees and shrubs,
more than 3.5 thousand flower-ornamental, greenhouse, grass and over 8
thousand new forms and varieties of fruit plants. The Botanical Garden
ranks 1st for its richness of species composition in Central Asia and a
leading position in the CIS. It is a member of the International Association
of Botanic Gardens (IABG). There are 80 people, including 24 research fellows
that operate in the Botanical Garden.
There is a significant collection fund of the Botanical Garden,
where species-and morphogenesis in plants under a separate and spontaneous
hybridisation in nature are theoretically substantiated. There are new
species identified and described previously unknown to science. An arboretum
was for the first time established on the principle of generic systems.
Especially valuable are the trees and shrubs of native flora,
among which are unique specimens that are saved only in the Botanical
Researches are being conducted on rare endangered plants, of
both local and district flora. As a result, for the purpose of green
construction of the republic, there were about 230 species of trees
and shrubs selected for vertical gardening - 15 species of ornamental
Each year, greening organisations of the republic receive 50-70
species, varieties and forms of flowering plants in the quantity of
100-200 thousand of planting units and 15-20 kg of seeds. Today the garden
covers 124 hectares. The urbanites are allowed to walk only 36 hectares.
park named after Kychan Dzhakypov (located on Abdrakhmanov - Michurin
streets). In 1885, a hop plantation was laid by A. M. Fetisov. In 1894,
the city manyor, J. F. Terentyev, now owned the area, which he expanded
by planting an orchard and a grove.
Between 1933-1934, there were new trees planted, mainly decorative.
Alleys have been laid down. The area concluded of 8 hectares. The
park grows English oak, locust, maple, ash, elm, arborvitae, walnut,
In 1951, a Palace of Pioneers and School Children was built
in the park. In the former home of the city mayor was now placed a
Children's Library # 7.
In 1963, "Terentyevsky Garden" was named after Kychan Dzhakypov
(Kychan Dzhakypov - was a Russian Pavlik Morozov).
In 2000, by the order of the mayor's office, due to lack of
funds, the park was transferred to the balance of the Bishkek City
Department of Environmental Protection.
In 2011, there was a project of restoration of the Palace of
Pioneers and the home of Terentyev, reconstruction of the puppet theatre,
building of the museum complex for artistic, historical and ethnographic
Currently, the park of Kychan Dzhakypov is a pathetic theme.
Trees are cut down, the house is in disrepair condition, the park is
under construction. Top
Dostuk Park. The residential area
of Ak-Bosogo. It was laid down in 2012. There were 250 seedlings of
ash and maple planted there. Top
Youth Park. It was founded in 1957
and was titled "40 Years of October". It is located at the intersection
of Jibek-Jolu prospect and Mahatma Gandhi street (east of the West Bus
Station). The area of the park is 26 hectares. It is a part of Bishkek's
association of parks and recreation areas.
In the second half of the 60s, there were three reservoirs set
up, lined with willow trees.
In 2012, 400 seedlings of elm, ash, catalpa were planted in the
There are also about 30 different species of trees and shrubs.
Among the trees are elm, walnut, oak, arborvitae, maple, etc. Shrubs
include forsythia, spiraea, lilac and other. Part of the park was given
for the mosque. Top
Walnut Grove Park. District 6.
Park named I. V. Panfilov (located
at Panfilov - Frunze streets). Between 1879-1880, gardener, A. M. Fetisov
(1842-1894), has laid the Kazennyi garden (orchard, fruit and ornamental
nursery-garden). In 1883,there were already more than 100 thousand of
fruit, ornamental and forest seedlings growing there. In 1889,a school
of horticulture for the Kyrgyz children was organised by Fetisov. The garden
was an experienced field and a laboratory school.
In the years of 1916-1918 of heavy frost, the garden almost completely
frozen off. In 1924-1925, restoration work began. Ornamental trees were
planted. In 1926, the Kazennyi garden was renamed to the Red Star. The
park area was reduced and the shape represented a five-pointed star. Alleys
branching off to the west of the fountain, represented sides of the star.
The eastern part of the park facing towards the square was broken in the
A children's area with rides was built in the park together with
a fountain, a dance pavilion, parachute tower, and sports facilities.
In 1940, a summer theatre with 800 seats was built there (architect G.
In 1938, the south-western part of the park was passed to the
In 1942, the park was named after I. V. Panfilov. In the same
year, it was renovated in connection with the establishment of the monument
to General I. V. Panfilov (sculptor O. and A. Manuilovs).
The construction started on the south side of the park, where
in 1985 a government building was built - which is now the White House.
The area of the park is 7.7 hectares. Plantings include 40 species
of woody plants: juniper, arborvitae, fir, elm species and other. At present,
the park is leased. Top
Park of Julius Fučík. It was created
in 1938. In 1957, the park was named after Julius Fučík - Czech folk
hero. Julius Fučík (1903-1943) was a journalist, communist, twice visited
Kyrgyzstan - in 1930 and 1935. On 10 June 1981, there was a ceremonial
laying of the monument dedicated to Julius Fučík.
On 26 July 2008, the park held an inauguration of the Architectural
Park Complex called "Kind Angel of Peace".
Currently, the park is divided into sections that are owned by private
Revolution Fighters Square. (It
is located on prospect Chui / Tynystanov and Soviet streets). Top
Square of Heroes of 7 April. It
was laid on 7 April 2012 near the Kyrgyz National University (KNU) of
Zhusup Balasagyn. There were 100 trees planted in the park in memory of
the dead compatriots. Top
Gorky Square. It is located west
of the Palace of Sports named Kojomkul. The square was demolished in 1981.
On 20 August 1981, a monument was installed dedicated to the great Russian
writer Maxim Gorky. The square was planted with blue and Tien-Shan spruce,
birch, rose garden and flower beds. Top
Square. In 1974, a monument of Friendship of People was installed in
the honour of the 100th anniversary of the entry of Kyrgyzstan to Russia.
Station square. It is located at
the forecourt of the square up on Erkindik street. On 25 October 1967,
a monument was installed dedicated to Mikhail Vasilyevich Frunze (1885-1925).
Theatre Square. It is located between
the Fine Arts Museum and the Library of Bayalinov.
In 1996, a monument was installed to akyn Aaly Tokombaev (1904-1988).
On 24 September 2012, a bronze monument was installed dedicated to a ballet
dancer Cholponbek Bazarbaev (1949-2002). Top
Togolok Moldo square. It was founded
in 1950-51. It has an area of 3.7 hectares. It is located within Moscow,
Koenkozov and Bokonbaev streets. Strictly geometric layout of alleys divides
the square on a number of small sections. In the centre of the intersection
of the alleys is a monument dedicated to Togolok Moldo that was installed
in 1963. On 17 November 2010, at the intersection of Bokonbaev street and
Togolok Moldo street, an Alley of akyns and a monument dedicated to the
Kyrgyz akyn Osmonkul Bolobalaev had opened in the square.
There are more than 37 varieties of plants in the square, 40% of which
are shrubs. Top
Labour glory square. It is located
west of the central square, behind the Historical Museum. It was founded
in 1974 for the 50th anniversary of the formation of the Kyrgyz SSR and
the Communist Party of Kyrgyzstan. It has an area of 0.9 hectares. Types
of planting include Crimean pine, Tien Shan spruce, blue spruce, Thuja occidentalis,
birch, etc. A monument of Labour Glory was installed in the square as well
as the statue of Lenin, which was transferred from the Ala-Too square.
Central Square. It was founded in
1933-38. B. Uitts was the author of the layout. Central Square has an area
of 2.1 hectares. It is located between Oak Park and Labour Glory Square.
The Square has a rectangle shape, divided into alleys. The composition axis
is the broad avenue that runs along the centre to form the orchestra. In
1953, a fountain was built in pink granite of original form in the centre
of the Square. In 1957, at the entrance, a monument to Karl Marx and Friedrich
Engels was installed. The Square has more than 50 types of trees and shrubs:
Forsythia, Canadian cercidiphyllum, catalpa bignonioides, chestnut, ailanthus,
oak, sophora, pine, etc. In 1964-65, the Square was redesigned by the architect
named E. Pisarsky. Top
Karagach Grove. Gardener, A. M.
Fetisov, comes to Pishpek from St. Petersburg in 1879. Using the paltry
funds allocated by the city government, he creates a grove - about 80,000
seedlings of various species. In 1881, north of the city, he lays a grove
mostly from karagach (elm) trees on a wetland wasteland.
By 1904, Karagach Grove already occupied 80 tithes (87 hectares). In 1928,
100 trees were cut down for the construction of the railway TURKSIB . In
1931, the Grove occupied an area of 100 hectares . In 1933-34, a picturesque
place - Arboretum (20 ha) was created in the felled area. In the north- western
part of the Grove - garden -Arboretum of the Department of forest of the
Institute of Biology of the Academy of Sciences of the Kyrgyz SSR ( 9.7 hectares).
There is also an arboretum (12 ha) created by the Botanical Garden .
In 1935, Karagach Grove was transferred to the City Council. In the following
years, there have been built a stage, dance floor , cinema, fountain, various
pavilions, flower gardens, walkways .
Between 1939-1940, on the initiative of the Komsomol, the community built
Komsomol lake (water surface area of 25.5 sq m ², depth of 1.5-2 m - in
the children's sector, 4 m - in the bathing area , 6-8 m - under diving
board ) . In 1946-1947, Pioneer lake was built (water surface area of 47.5
sq m ², depth - 1.3 m) . The lakes have beaches and boat stations.
In 1978 - the year of the 100th anniversary of the founding of the Frunze
city, behind the Great Chu channel on the side of Central grove avenue,
a clump of pink granite was established, on which the following was carved
: "Karagach Grove was founded in 1881 by botanist A. M. Fetisov".
The Grove had more than 50 species of trees and shrubs. Among them - oak,
poplar, walnut, linden, birch, maple, catalpa, arborvitae, juniper, gleditsia
and shrubs : jasmine, lilac, cornaceae, cherries, etc. The predominant species
is elm . The total area of Karagach Grove is 180 hectares. Top
Young Guard Avenue (from the rail-road
to Jibek-Jolu street).
It is formerly known as Wide street and At-Bashi street. Since 1948, Young
Guard was classed as a street and in 1960 it became a boulevard. In 1970,
the boulevard was renamed to Young Guard Avenue.
In 1940, on several Subbotniks, 1900 trees were planted, 2 thousand honeysuckle
bushes, acacia, roses and 25 thousand flower seedlings. There were 58 thousand
bushes of live hedges and 400 kg of flower seeds planted. A total of 12 thousand
square metres has been landscaped - from the railway line to Dungan street
In 1951, sowing was carried out up to Lenin street (Jibek-Jolu).
In 1958, a complete construction of carriageways began - paved lanes with
a one-way traffic stretched on both sides of the boulevard.
In 1963, a monument to the Komsomol people of the older generation was installed
in the centre of the avenue at the intersection of Prospect Chui.
In 1975, a memorial complex named "Avenue of Heroes" was opened, dedicated
to the citizens of Kyrgyzstan - Heroes of the Great Patriotic War.
In 1984, monument of the Hero of the Soviet Union pilot T. Begeldinov was
moved to Young Guard boulevard (intersection of Moscow street), which used
to stand in the square opposite former building of Central Election Commission
(which became Historical Museum of the Kyrgyz SSR since 1967).
Now in the green zone grows biota, birch, elm, acacia, ash, oak, honey locust,as
well as lilac, forsythia and other. Top
Erkindik avenue ( from the forecourt
of the railway square to Jibek-Jolu avenue). Erkindik - "Freedom". The width
of the street including the park area in the centre is more than a hundred
The street was founded in 1883 by A. M. Fetisov as an alley of 2 rows of
silver poplar and was called Boulevard .
In 1924, it was renamed to Komsomolskaya street, and in 1927 to Dzerzhinsky
street. Since 1970, the street became Dzerzhinsky avenue. Since 1999, it
became Erkindik. In 1883, the main part of the street was planted with oak
trees and silver poplars.
In 1902, the planting of the trees continued and stretched to Engels street.
In the 30's, a piece of land was planted with greenery from Frunze street
to Kirov street, and from Engels street to the forecourt of the railway station
In the early XX, an "official ditch" was laid along the planted trees in
order to water them.
In 1932, the street began to be laid with cobblestones. In 1938, carriageways
of the street started to get asphalted.
Later, granite curbs were stacked at the edges. In 1946, shaped posts were
installed for lighting, which were replaced in 1978 with new and modern ones.
In the late 50's and 60's, evergreen arborvitae were planted on both sides
of the carriageways of the avenue.
On 5 November 1947, a monument-bust dedicated to the Kyrgyz poet and playwright,
Djoomart Bokonbaev (1910-1944), was installed at the intersection with Engels
street. In 2003, the monument was stolen in order to be sold for non-ferrous
metals, it was sawn apart and could not be reconstructed.
On 22 January 1948, a monument dedicated to V. I. Lenin was installed near
Oak Park at the intersection with Pushkin street.
In 1984, a new monument was opened dedicated to V. I. Lenin at Ala-Too square
and the old one was removed.
In 1987, a monument to F. E. Dzerzhinsky was installed here. In 1999, it
was replaced by a monument of Erkindik (Freedom), and in 2004, by a monument
dedicated to Kurmanjan Datka.
On 25 October 1967, a monument dedicated to Mikhail Vasilyevich Frunze was
installed in the park near the railway station square.
In November 1967, a monument-bust dedicated to Alex Illarionovich Ivanitsyn
was installed at the intersection with Ivanitsyn street.
In September 1975 , a monument-bust of Twice the Heroes of Socialist Labour
dedicated to a collective farmer, Suurakan Kainazarova, was installed just
above Chui avenue. Top